“Time Does Not Bring Relief” Josephine Wiggs

"Time Does Not Bring Relief' by Josephine Wiggs is Northern Transmissions' 'Song of the Day.' The track is of her forthcoming release 'We Fall.'
"We Fall" Josephine Wiggs

Josephine Wiggs (The Breeders) has albums under her belt, each one with their own identity. Her forthcoming release, We Fall, is described both as a departure and a distillation of an enduring personal aesthetic: moody and spare but also melodic, at once contemporary and nostalgic.

Some influences are clear: We Fall is reminiscent of the experimentalism of Brian Eno’s Another Green World and recalls the delicate, languid minimalism of Harold Budd. The album’s classical inflections, sharpened by a dialog with electronic elements, evoke Alva Noto and Ryuichi Sakamoto. This is an album of juxtapositions: minimalist at moments, richly layered in others; ambient while also sharply focused; melancholy yet resolute.

We Fall will be released on vinyl and available for download and streaming on May 17th, 2019 by The Sound of Sinners. The album’s first single, “Time Does Not Bring Relief,” is both delicate and dynamic, rhythmic and responsive… a curious first glance into Wiggs’ new album.

Composed, performed and recorded by Wiggs, with drums and electronics by her longtime friend and collaborator Jon Mattock (Spacemen3, Spiritualized), We Fall is a lyrical, bucolic album with an undercurrent of disquiet.

Josephine Wiggs
We Fall
Release Date: May 17th, 2019
The Sound of Sinners
Track List:

37 Words
Slipping Through The Cracks
We Fall
In A Yellow Wood
Loveliest Of Trees
Turn To Moss
The Weeping Of The Rain
Time Does Not Bring Relief
The Soft Stars That Shine