Tim Burgess announces Typical Music LP

Tim Burgess announces Typical Music LP. The UK multi-artist's forthcoming release drops on September 23, via Bella Union and DSPs
Tim Burgess announces Typical Music LP

Tim Burgess HAS announces the release of his new solo album. The frontman of The Charlatans, singer/songwriter, Tim’s Twitter Listening Party creator and author’s solo LP, Typical Music, drops on September 23, via Bella Union Records on Friday, . Pre-orders and pre-saves are available now. Produced at Wales’ Rockfield Studio by longtime collaborator Daniel O’Sullivan (Grumbling Fur, Sunn O))), Ulver).

Tim Burgess’ career spans over three decades as lead singer and frontman of The Charlatans, five diverse solo albums, three unique memoirs, the foundation of the prismatic O Genesis label, and more than 1000 installments of the now-beloved Tim’s Twitter Listening Party. Conceived by Burgess in March 2020 at the dawn of the pandemic era, the ingenious online events brought people around the world together through real-time album playbacks via Twitter, featuring stories from bands and fans, rarely seen images, and exclusive insights and anecdotes from the artists who created some of music’s most iconic albums.

“OK, we all know about double albums, right?,” says Tim Burgess. “Historically, they’ve been thought of as indulgent. But I came to the conclusion that what I was doing was the opposite of that. I wanted to give people everything that I’d done. Every idea was treated as if it was the best thing and had to be treated with extreme care. I wanted to give everything of myself. That was it.”

Burgess brought his burgeoning batch of songs to the world-famous Rockfield Studios in Monmouthshire, Wales, a storied establishment that held powerful memories for him, including the recording of The Charlatans’ 1997 landmark, TELLIN’ STORIES, an experience irreparably tarnished by the death of the keyboard player Rob Collins in a car crash at the bottom of the lane while making that album. Though Burgess hadn’t properly been back to Rockfield in almost 25 years, he now felt ready to return, this time joined by a pair of truly inspired collaborators in Daniel O’Sullivan, a gifted multi-instrumentalist, producer, and member of his live band, and visionary keyboard/synth wizard Thighpaulsandra (Julian Cope, Coil, Spiritualized).

“I fell in love with the world again,” Burgess says. “During Covid, I read a pile of books, got better on guitar. I had new perspective. I wanted to learn how to be Tim Burgess who makes solo records. People have a vision of me as the singer in The Charlatans. That’s not going to change. Then there’s me as the Twitter guy. But I just fell in love with the world again and wanted the world to take me with them.”

Tim Burgess
Typical Music
Bella Union Records
Release Date: September 23, 2022

1. Here Comes The Weekend
2. Curiosity
3. Time That We Call Time
4. Flamingo
5. Revenge Through Art
6. Kinetic Connection
7. Typical Music
8. Take Me With You
9. After This
10. The Centre Of Me (Is a Symphony Of You)
11. When I See You
12. Magic Rising
13. Tender Hooks
13. Don’t Stay Lost
14. L.O.S.T Lost / Will You Take a Look At My Hand Please
15. A Bloody Nose
16. In May
17. Slacker (Than I’ve Ever Been)
18. View From Above
19. A Quarter To Eight
20. Sooner Than Yesterday
21. Sure Enough
22. What’s Meant For You Won’t Pass By You

Pre order Typical Music by Tim Burgess HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.