Thee Oh Sees announce ‘Fortress’ 7″

Thee Oh Sees announce 'Fortress' 7" for Castle Face out February 16th

Today Thee Oh Sees announced the upcoming arrival of the new Fortress 7″ on Castle Face Records, set for a February 12th release. The jagged, most-instrumental cut “Fortress” premiered today, and is available on Soundcloud. Artwork and details below.

On December 16th and 17th, the band will be hosting a two night benefit concert for L.A. Kitchen in Los Angeles at the Teragram. Joining them for the event are Fuzz, Wand, and Permanent Records DJs.

L.A. Kitchen believes that neither food nor people should ever go to waste. By reclaiming healthy, local food that would otherwise be discarded, training men and women who are unemployed for jobs, and providing healthy meals to fellow citizens, L.A. Kitchen empowers, nourishes, and engages the community. Click here for more information.

“We used to do these kinds of events in San Francisco every year, homelessness is really pretty extreme there. But here in Los Angeles, it seems more dire still,” John Dwyer describes. “This is the first city where I’ve seen homeless children on the street. It’s pretty rough out there and everyday the divide seems to grow between money and people without. So, anyway we can help out seems like a good thing and everybody involved in the event just sort pulled it all together.”

Thee Oh Sees will also be playing a New Years Eve show at the Ace Hotel in Palm Springs as well as the Treefort Festival in March, and will be heading to Australia in the new year for a string of tour dates.

Thee Oh Sees
Fortress 7″
Out February 12th, 2016 on Castle Face Records

Man In a Suitcase

Thee Oh Sees announce 'Fortress' 7" for Castle Face out February 16th,

Thee Oh Sees are the latest incarnation of songwriter, singer, guitarist (and Castle Face fearless leader) John Dwyer’s ever-evolving pop-folk psychedelic group. Dwyer, who hails from Providence, RI, has been active on the San Francisco indie scene since the late ’90s, working with several bands, including the Coachwhips, Pink & Brown, Yikes, Up Its Alive, and Swords & Sandals, among others, and he formed OCS (which is an acronym for Orinoka Crash Suite, Orange County Sound, or whatever Dwyer decided it was on any given day) initially as a vehicle for the experimental instrumentals he was producing in his home studio.

In time OCS morphed into an actual band, and worked under the usual flurry of names, most notably as the Oh Sees or the Ohsees , and eventually as Thee Oh Sees, featuring Dwyer on guitar and vocals, Brigid Dawson on vocals and tambourine, Petey Dammit (sometimes listed as Petey Dammit!) on guitar, and MikeShoun on drums.


Wednesday 12/16 Los Angeles, CA (L.A. Kitchen benefit) – Buy Tickets
Thursday 12/17 Los Angeles, CA (L.A. Kitchen benefit) – Buy Tickets
Thursday 12/31 Palm Springs CA, The Commune at Ace Hotel
Friday 1/8 Brisbane, Crow Bar
Saturday 1/9 Gold Coast, Shark Bar
Sunday 1/10 Byron Bay, The Northern
Wednesday 1/13 Newcastle, The Small Ballroom
Friday 1/15 Sydney, Newtown Social Club
Saturday 1/16 Wollongong, Wollongong Uni Bar
Tuesday 1/19 Geelong, Barwon Club
Wednesday 1/20 Melbourne, Howler
Saturday 1/23 Fremantle, Mojo’s Bar
Friday 2/12 Solana Beach, Belly Up Tavern
Wednesday 3/23 – Sunday 3/27 – Boise ID, Treefort Music Festival