The Weather Station Announces New Album

The Weather Station has announced her new album 'How Is It That I Should Look At The Stars,' will drop on March 4, 2022
The Weather Station has announced her new album 'How Is It That I Should Look At The Stars,' will drop on March 4, 2022

Tamara Lindeman AKA: The Weather Station announces How Is It That I Should Look At The Stars, a new album out March 4 on Next Door Records, and presents its lead single/video, “Endless Time”. How Is It That I Should Look At The Stars is intended to be heard as a companion piece to Ignorance. These are songs written at the same time that connect emotionally and deal with many of the same themes: disconnection and conflict, love, birds, and climate feelings. Recorded live in just three days, How Is It That I Should Look At The Stars is achingly intimate; full of breath, silence, and detail.

“When I wrote Ignorance, it was a time of intense creativity, and I wrote more songs than I ever had in my life. The songs destined to be on the album were clear from the beginning, but as I continued down my writing path, songs kept appearing that had no place on the album I envisioned. Songs that were simple, pure; almost naive. Songs that spoke to many of the same questions and realities as Ignorance, but in a more internal, thoughtful way.” Lindeman elaborates, “So I began to envision How Is It That I Should Look At The Stars, a quiet, strange album of ballads. I imagined it not as a followup to Ignorance, but rather as a companion piece; the moon to its sun.”

Not long after completing Ignorance, Lindeman decided to make this album on her own terms, fronting the money herself and not notifying the labels. She assembled a new band, and communicated a new ethos; the music should feel ungrounded, with space, silence, and sensitivity above all else. On this record, there are no drums, no percussion; in the absence of rhythm, time stretches and becomes elastic. With Christine Bougie on guitar and lap steel, Karen Ng on saxophone and clarinet, Ben Whiteley on upright bass, Ryan Driver on piano, flute, and vocals, and Tania Gill on wurlitzer, rhodes, and pianet, the band comprised some of the best players in the Toronto jazz and improvisation scene.

How Is It That I Should Look At The Stars was recorded live off the floor at Toronto’s Canterbury Music Studios from March 10-12, 2020. With Jean Martin co-producing, Lindeman sang and played piano live while the band improvised their accompaniment. When the band entered the studio, Covid-19 was a news item, not front of mind, but just three days later, everything had changed. On today’s “Endless Time”, Lindeman sings about a feeling of unease, interweaving relational loss with anxiety about the impending climate crisis. She wonders whether she would look back on the present moment as one of unnoticed abundance as she repeats in the song ‘it’s only the end / of an endless time’. Lindeman comments, “In Toronto, I live in a world of overwhelming abundance; fruits and fresh vegetables flown in year round from Chile, California, Malaysia. Standing outside a neighbourhood fruit stand one day, I found myself wondering how I would look back on this time from the future; if I would someday remember it as a time of abundance and wealth I did not fully comprehend at the time, and I wondered how it would feel to stand at that threshold of change. I wondered too if we were not already there. The song was written long before the pandemic, but when we recorded it, on March 11, 2020, it began to feel eerily prescient. The day it was recorded truly was the end of an endless time, and as ever, I don’t know how the song knew. Somehow, the music captures that instability; it is ungrounded and diaphanous, it floats and drifts.”

The Weather Station
How Is It That I Should Look At The Stars
Track List

1. Marsh
2. Endless Time
3. Taught
4. Ignorance
5. To Talk About
6. Stars
7. Song
8. Sway
9. Sleight of Hand
10. Loving You

The Weather Station
2022 Tour Dates

Sat. Feb. 12, 2022 – Los Angeles, CA @ Troubadour &
Sun. Feb. 13, 2022 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent &
Tue. Feb. 15, 2022 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios &
Thu. Feb. 17, 2022 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern &
Sat. Feb. 19, 2022 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The State Room ^
Mon. Feb. 21, 2022 – Denver, CO @ Globe Hall ^
Wed. Feb. 23, 2022 – Minneapolis, MN @ Turf Club ^
Thu. Feb. 24, 2022 – Madison, WI @ High Noon ^
Fri. Feb. 25, 2022 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall ^
Tue. Mar. 15, 2022 – Brighton, UK @ Komedia
Wed. Mar. 16, 2022 – Bristol, UK @ Thekla
Thu. Mar. 17, 2022 – Manchester, UK @ Gorilla
Fri. Mar. 18, 2022 – Dublin, IE @ Workmans Club
Sat. Mar. 19, 2022 – Belfast, UK @ Black Box
Mon. Mar. 21, 2022 – Glasgow, UK @ Mono
Tue. Mar. 22, 2022 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Wed. Mar. 23, 2022 – London, UK @ Scala
Fri. Mar. 25, 2022 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique
Sat. Mar. 26, 2022 – Paris, FR @ La Boule Noire
Sun. Mar. 27, 2022 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso Noord
Mon. Mar. 28, 2022 – Berlin, DE @ Frannz Club
Wed. Mar. 30, 2022 – Copenhagen, DK @ Loppen
Thu. Mar. 31, 2022 – Oslo, NO @ Bla
Fri. Apr. 1, 2022 – Stockholm, SE @ Debaser / Bar Brooklyn
Sat. Apr. 2, 2022 – Gothenburg, SE @ Oceanen
Mon. Apr. 4, 2022 – Hamburg, DE @ Nochtwache
Tue. Apr. 5, 2022 – Cologne, DE @ Blue Shell
Wed. Apr. 6, 2022 – Munich, DE @ Milla
Thu. Apr. 7, 2022 – Zurich, CH @ Bogen F
Sat. Jun. 11, 2022 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera
Thu. Jun. 16, 2022 – Manchester, TN @ Bonnaroo

&= w/ Cassandra Jenkins
^= w/ Helena Deland
*= w/ Sam Amidon

Pre-order How Is It That I Should Look At The Stars by The Weather Station HERE