“The Tunnel” by Cones

Cones are comprised of brothers Jonathan and Michael Rosen. Jonathan, the band’s singer and principal songwriter is also a middle school art teacher and a visual artist whose hand-drawn animations and drawings have been styled for Erykah Badu, Toro y Moi, Pond and Eleanor Friedberger, and is a contributing cartoonist for The New Yorker magazine. Michael is a classically trained pianist, composer, and producer who carefully crafts their recordings at his Los Angeles studio Honeymoon Suite, and additionally works as a software engineer at THX in the world of spatial audio.

The band’s forthcoming album Almanac, due for release on August 5th, offers up a blend of shimmering psychedelic exploration, nostalgic lyrics, that hint at everything from Big Star and the Replacements to ELO and the Bee Gees. Mind-bending bass lines, euphoric synthesizers, deliciously crunchy guitar riffs, and twisting vocal melodies all coalesce into a one-of-a-kind psychedelic sound that works equally well blaring from speakers at a party or on headphones late at night. Ahead of the release, the duo have shared a visualizer for album track “The Tunnel.”

track list

1. Time Warp
2. Malice Palace
3. Big Bad
4. The Tunnel
5. Penny
6. Juniper’s Eye
7. Rosie L
8. Stray Lines
9. Broken Apples
10. Drift


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.