The Pop Group announce album re-issue

The Pop Group announce 1st re-issue of "For How Much Longer Do We Tolerate Mass Murder?"

Post punk band The Pop Group will reissue their long out of print second studio album, For How Much Longer Do We Tolerate Mass Murder? through Freaks R Us on February 19th.

It will be the first time the highly sought after album has been reissued, let alone made available digitally or on CD. The vinyl edition remains true to the ambitious aesthetics of the original release, coming packaged with eight giant original artwork prints on four double-sided posters, and the CD format will include smaller versions of all the posters.

The reissue also features their post-punk anthem “We Are All Prostitutes”. Although initially intended for the album, the track was absent from the final running order. To redress this omission, the decision has been made to include it on the reissue.

The track listing of the album is as follows:
1. Forces Of Oppression
2. Feed The Hungry
3. We Are All Prostitutes
4. Blind Faith
5. How Much Longer
6. Justice
7. There Are No Spectators
8. Communicate
9. Rob A Bank

Originally released in March 1980 on their own Y label through Rough Trade, For How Much Longer Do We Tolerate Mass Murder? spent 20 weeks in the Indie charts. Produced and mixed by the band, For How Much Longer Do We Tolerate Mass Murder? represents the quintessential independent Pop Group album – untethered, entrenched and completely committed to challenging the political orthodoxy of the day and savagely denunciating its failings.

The Pop Group singer and lyricist, Mark Stewart says: “Context is crucial. At the time, The Pop Group were playing multiple rallies and benefits across Europe from Scrap SUS to Aid for Cambodia to our final blow out at the 500,000 strong Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament rally in Trafalgar Square.”

Nick Cave talks about We Are All Prostitutes: