The Murder Capital Announce New Album

The Murder Capital announce new album album Gigi's Recovery. The Irish band's forthcoming release drops on January 20, 2023 via Human Season
The Murder Capital announce new album album Gigi's Recovery. The Irish band's forthcoming release drops on January 20, 2023 via Human Season

Irish band, The Murder Capital will release their new album Gigi’s Recovery, available January 20, 2022 via Human Season. Ahead of the release, the band also share their second single from the record, the emotive and widescreen “A Thousand Lives,” alongside the song’s music video directed by TommyDavies. The John Congleton produced new LP follows the Irish band’s celebrated 2019 debut album, When I Have Fears.

“A thousand lives with you and I won’t be enough” James sings in the song, with a carefulness and weight to it, as though each life is a layer within the song, slowly building up and falling away distinguishable or indistinguishable from one another, depending on how you hear it. Front man James McGovern had the following to say about the themes behind the new single: “Knowing that the day is only X-hours long, alongside my understanding of how love can be the true restorative seed, means that if and when you are so lucky to find it (and it is true) the seemingly small glance that is our lifetime could never contain enough of those days or those hours. Even a thousand of those lifetimes would never be enough.

While the material on “When I Have Fears” captured the vital beginnings of the group, the 12 songs of “Gigi’s Recovery” push the band into ever braver sonic territories, oceans apart from previous peers. Ambition is put right at the front and center, with the inventive, expansive guitar work of Cathal Roper and Damien Tuit paired to a precise and intelligent rhythmic unit in bassist Gabriel Paschal Blake and drummer Diarmuid Brennan. Electronic elements are noticeably more prominent across the record, with industrial influences explored in greater detail than ever before, McGovern’s bold melodies acting as a reassuring anchor so we never get totally swept away into the band’s new found soundscape.

The Murder Capital also made their live return this year performing at the likes of Primavera Sound, VYV Festival and Solidays, as well as opening for Pearl Jam at British Summer Time. The performances follow their largely sold-out EU / UK tours in 2020, which saw them sell out their biggest headline show to date at London’s Electric Ballroom.

The Murder Capital
Gigi’s Recovery
Human Season

1 Existence
2 Crying
3 Return My Head
4 Ethel
5 The Stars Will Leave Their Stage
6 Belonging
7 The Lie Becomes the Self
8 A Thousand Lives
9 We Had to Disappear
10 Only Good Things
11 Gigi’s Recovery
12 Exist

The Murder Capital are:

James McGovern – vocals
Damien Tuit – guitars
Cathal Roper – guitars / keys
Gabriel Paschal Blake – bass
Diarmuid Brennan – drums

Pre order Gigi’s Recovery by The Murder Capital HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.