“The Mission” By Six Organs of Admittance

The Mission by Six Organs Of Admittance is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day. The track is off his forthcoming album Time Is Glass
Photo Credit: Kami Chasny

Six Organs of Admittance AKA: Ben Chasny, releases his new LP, Time is Glass, on April 26th via Drag City (Ty Segall). Ahead of the release Chasny has shared album track “The Mission.”

“The Mission”, the first single and lead track off Time is Glass, nods to the acid-folk of Current 93 and the cosmic pop of Chris Bell’s Big Star. It’s a cut that highlights the acoustic technique that has distinguished Chasny’s transformative songwriting over the past several decades, while calling forth a falsetto melody equal parts lullaby and prayer, a murmuring of feral truths sung so gently that all has got to be forgiven. For the music video, director Elisa Ambrogio sews together scenes from California and Portugal into a patchwork of texture and tone.

Ben Chasny on “The Mission”:

“A couple of years ago a good friend of mine was falling in love in a new country and the stories he told at the time were both beautiful and terrifying, sublime and on the edge. I wrote this song for him and his new partner after they had begun to figure out how to be together.”

Time is Glass is sharply focused, even as misty impressionist mountains float through the background. Sweet and spiny, “The Mission” sings itself-as-opening-treatise, before turning abruptly to through events of rural industrial psychedelia/ecosystem goth, synth-tinged acoustic folk, fingerstyle mastery… and soon the time of the record becomes clear, moving fluidly, relaxed, but aware, to help lift our helplessly earthbound community into the firmament above.

Six Organs of Admittance
Time is Glass
Drag City Records

1. The Mission
2. Hephaestus
3. Slip Away
4. Pilar
5. Theophany Song
6. My Familiar
7. Spinning In A River
8. Summer’s Last Rays
9. New Year’s Song

Pre-order Time is Glass by Six Organs of Admittance HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.