The Goon Sax announce announce album

The Goon Sax announce new album 'We're Not Talking'
The Goon Sax

The Goon Sax, have announced their brand new album, We’re Not Talking, will be released on September 14th via Wichita Recordings. The trio will also be headed to North America, for a run of dates, starting June 1st in Chicago. Along with the news Goon Sax is sharing the first single, “She Knows”. James Harrison of the band, talks about the song.

“‘She Knows’ has become a very fast song, which took us a lot of practise to be able to finally hit and strum our instruments fast enough, with a lot of string breaking. I hope it makes people energetic and excited to listen to, its a song about losing hope, stubbornness and heartache. Im not sure if its our saddest song, but maybe if you lock yourself in your room for a couple of days and only listen to it you might not feel so happy, it is also okay if you feel happy to this song! Even better!!!”

The Goon Sax toured UK and Europe twice on that record, played shows with Whitney, US Girls, Twerps and Teenage Fanclub, graduated school, and then turned their focus to album number two. They flew to Melbourne to record with James Cecil and Cameron Bird, respectively former/current members of Architecture In Helsinki.

New album We’re Not Talking shows how much can change between the ages of 17 and 19. It’s a record that takes the enthusiasms of youth and twists them into darker, more sophisticated shapes. Relationships are now laced with hesitation, remorse, misunderstanding and ultimately compassion. Lines like, “When the bus went past your house and past your stop my eyes filled with tears” and “I’ve got a few things above my bed but it feels so empty, I’ve got spaces to fill and we’re not talking,” are quite simply heartbreaking.

Drummer Riley Jones really comes to the fore here, joining Louis and James in singing lead and writing songs for the first time, making the band the musical equivalent of an equilateral triangle (the strongest shape in physics). After the album was recorded, Louis spent some time being bohemian in a freezing Berlin apartment, but they are now all back in Australia, and keeping busy playing shows with Angel Olsen, Perfume Genius, and Protomartyr.


1. Make Time 4 Love
2. Love Lost
3. She Knows
4. Losing Myself
5. Somewhere In Between
6. Strange Light
7. Sleep EZ
8. We Can’t Win
9. A Few Times Too Many
10. Now You Pretend
11. Get Out
12. Til The End


Tue. May 22 – Berlin, DE @ Kantine am Berghain w/ Frankie Cosmos
Wed. May 23 – Hamburg, DE @ Aalhaus w/ Frankie Cosmos
Thu. May 24 – Ghent, BE @ DOKbox w/ Frankie Cosmos
Sat. May 26 – Paris, FR @ Petit Bain w/ Frankie Cosmos
Mon. May 28 – Manchester, UK @ Gorilla w/ Frankie Cosmos
Tue. May 29 – London, UK @ Sebright Arms
Fri. June 1 – Sun. June 3 – Chicago, IL @ Do Division Street Fest
Sun. June 3 – Chicago, IL @ Subterranean
Wed. June 6 – Brooklyn, NY @ Union Pool
Sun. June 10 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo (PART TIME PUNKS)