The Beths Share “A Real Thing” Video

The Beths have Shared a new video for “A Real Thing.” The track is off their current release Jump Rope Gazers, now out via Carpark Records
The Beths have Shared a new video for “A Real Thing.” The track is off their current release Jump Rope Gazers

Those fine folks from New Zealand, The Beths are back with “A Real Thing,” the track is off their current release Jump Rope Gazers, now available via Carpark Records. Last year, the band released Auckland, New Zealand, 2020, a live concert recording. The Beths, finally hit the road on February 10, with a sold out show in Los Angeles.

“‘A Real Thing’ is a kind of anxiety dream. It’s a bit muddled, a bit frantic, a bit sinister,” says lead singer Liz Stokes. “It’s what came out of my guitar in late 2020, post NZ election (and U.S. election). I was limply reaching for optimism about the future, but was really just marinating in dread.” Ultimately playing more apocalyptic scenarios of climate change in her head, Stokes’ lyrics include specific references to how New Zealand has dealt with sea level rise in the past: “In NZ people sometimes use tyres and cement to build retaining walls by the water, to try to stop the land being eroded away as the sea encroaches. It doesn’t really work.” It’s a poignant image for a band that has had to navigate the constant changes in our present moment.

The deep bond between Stokes, lead guitarist Jonathan Pearce, bassist Benjamin Sinclair, and drummer Tristan Deck, has allowed them to overcome challenging circumstances and that’s present in the upbeat urgency of “A Real Thing.” It’s palpable from the very start and paired with the band’s signature bright, raucous guitar hooks and cooing harmonies; the song races and soars, much like an increasing heart rate. The Beths’ infectious and insightful songwriting on “A Real Thing” is an exciting marker of more excellent work to come, and the perfect way to mark the beginning of tour.

The Beths 2022 Tour Dates

Thu. Feb. 10 – Los Angeles, CA @ Regent Theater (SOLD OUT)
Fri. Feb. 11 – Pioneertown, CA @ Pappy & Harriet’s (SOLD OUT)
Sat. Feb. 12 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Tue. Feb. 15 – Austin, TX @ Empire Garage
Wed. Feb. 16 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada (SOLD OUT)
Fri. Feb. 18 – Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade (Hell) (SOLD OUT)
Sat. Feb. 19 – Nashville, TN @ Mercy Lounge
Wed. Feb. 23 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall (SOLD OUT)
Thu. Feb. 24 – Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts (SOLD OUT)
Fri. Feb. 25 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat (SOLD OUT)
Sat. Feb. 26 – Boston, MA @ Royale
Mon. Feb. 28 – Hamden, CT @ Space Ballroom
Wed. Mar. 2 – Chicago, IL @ Metro
Fri. Mar. 4 – Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line
Thu. Mar. 10 – Sydney, AU @ The Factory Theatre (SOLD OUT)
Fri. Mar. 11 – Brisbane, AU @ The Zoo (SOLD OUT)
Sat. Mar. 12 – Melbourne, AU @ The Night Cat (SOLD OUT)
Sun. Mar. 27 – Southampton, UK @ The Loft
Mon. Mar. 28 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club (SOLD OUT)
Tue. Mar. 29 – Glasgow, UK @ St Luke’s
Thu. Mar. 31 – Manchester, UK @ Club Academy
Sat. Apr. 2 – Birmingham, UK @ The Castle and Falcon
Sun. Apr. 3 – Bristol, UK @ Exchange
Mon. Apr. 4 – London, UK @ O2 Forum Kentish Town
Tue. Apr. 5 – Brighton, UK @ Concorde II
Thu. Apr. 7 – Paris, FR @ Point Ephémère
Fri. Apr. 8 – Lyon, FR @ Le Marché Gare
Sat. Apr. 9 – Dudingen, CH @ Bad Bonn
Sun. Apr. 10 – Lausanne, CH @ Le Romandie
Tue. Apr. 12 – Milan, IT @ Biko
Wed. Apr. 13 – Munich, DE @ Feierwerk
Fri. Apr. 15 – Vienna, AT @ B72
Sat. Apr. 16 – Prague, CZ @ Underdogs’
Mon. Apr. 18 – Berlin, DE @ Lido
Tue. Apr. 19 – Copenhagen, DK @ VEGA Ideal Bar
Wed. Apr. 20 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow
Thu. Apr. 21 – Cologne, DE @ Bumann & Sohn
Fri. Apr. 22 – Brussels, BE @ Ancienne Belgique
Sat. Apr. 23 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Sun. Apr. 24 – Esch-sur-Alzette, LU @ Kulturfabrik
Sat. Jul. 24 – Seattle, WA @ Capitol Hill Block Party
Sun. Aug. 14 – Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace

Order tickets HERE