“Tether” by Vertical Slump

Northern Transmissions' 'Song of the Day' is "Tether" by UK band Vertical Slump. Their EP comes out September 7th.

Icecapades have announced the debut 7” E.P from London’s Vertical Slump, entitled Ruined Value, due out on Friday October 2nd.

Vertical Slump are Simon Marsham (guitars, vocals), Andrew Milk (drums, vocals), Ed Shellard (bass, vocals) and Peter Simpson (synthesizers), a quartet of time-served hands at the DIY foundry who are/were also involved in (amongst others) the bands Shopping, Gloss Rejection, Omi Palone and Circuit Breaker.

This collection of songs was recorded in February of this year at Sound Savers studios with Mark Jasper, and follows on neatly from where a cassette E.P of early demos left us, released earlier in 2015 through Mïlk Records.

Mastered with an added slice of punk grit by the evergreen Daniel Husayn at North London Bomb Factory, these recordings can be seen as both a pulsating introduction to a band, and a persuading proposition of what’s to come in the future.

‘Ruined Value’ will be released on Friday 2nd October digitally and on 7”. The band will be playing the following UK dates around the time of the release:

August 31st – Power Lunches, London, w /Sievehead + Frau + Bad Manifest
September 22nd – Birthdays, London, w / Lust For Youth + Static Palm
September 25th – Eagle Inn, Salford, w / Terrible Truths
September 28th – The Audacious Art Experiment, Sheffield, w / Fehm + John The Baptist’s Head On A Plate
September 29th – JT Soar, Nottingham, w / Debris Slide
September 30th – Cardiff TBC
October 1st 2015 – 7” Launch at DIY Space For London, w / No Form, Woolf + Cianuro