Swerve debut their new track “Everything”

Swerve debut their new track "Everything"

Swerve is the creation of Los Angeles based songwriter Gregory Mahdesian. Officially formed in early 2015 with drummer Casey Baird, guitarist Ryan Berti, and bassist Brandon Duncan, Swerve went through a few incarnations before finalizing the line-up. Music was a lifelong pursuit of Gregory’s and some of the first Swerve songs started coming together as early as 2011 – locked in a downtown loft in his early 20’s contemplating whether anyone even cared about guitar music anymore.

Next came The Simple Pleasures – the first group Greg assembled to play the tunes he’d been hearing in his head for so long. They recorded an EP in late 2014 with producer (and future-bassist) Brandon Duncan in Santa Monica’s Apogee Studios. The Simple Pleasures knocked out an impressive 6 songs in 2 days but the band drifted – finding themselves in different parts of the world – and the EP was never to be released under their name, until Gregory found his bandmates in what is now Swerve. That’s when the songs really came alive and were fleshed out during recording.