“Sweet William” Chris Cohen

Captured Tracks recording artist Chris Cohen has released a new video for “Sweet William” from his forthcoming self-titled album to be released March 29th. “Sweet William,” also the name of a traditional English ballad and a flowering plant, was written and recorded by Cohen with lyrics penned by Luke Csehak (The Lentils). Csehak also directed the video which was inspired by the 1941 Lon Chaney Jr. film, The Wolfman.

Cohen’s new album was written and recorded in his Lincoln Heights studio and at Tropico Beauties in Glendale, California, over the course of the last two years. He would sing melodies into his phone, fleshing them out on piano, then constructing songs around the melodies, and later, adding lyrics and other instrumentation with the help of Katy Davidson (Dear Nora), Luke Csehak, Zach Phillips, and saxophonist Kasey Knudsen, among others. It is his most straightforward album yet, but it is also the conclusion of an unofficial cycle that began with Overgrown Path.

Though the album is undeniably part of the framework that made up his previous two records [Overgrown Path and As If Apart] — Chris Cohen is also a thoughtful, accomplished meditation on life and family, backed by dusky instrumentation influenced by the late evening beauty of Pat Metheny’s Falcon and the Snowman soundtrack, and Thomas Dolby’s Golden Age of Wireless. It’s beautiful, but it’s also unflinching in its depiction of emotional turmoil.

Chris Cohen
North American Tour Dates

Mon. April 1 – Tucson, AZ @ Hotel Congress
Tue. April 2 – Albuquerque, NM @ Sister Bar
Thu. April 4 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk Inside
Fri. April 5 – Houston, TX @ Satellite Bar
Sun. April 7 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Mon. April 8 – Nashville, TN @ The End
Tue. April 9 – Asheville, NC @ The Mothlight
Thu. April 11 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s w/ Hand Habits
Sat. April 13 – New York, NY @ National Sawdust
Sun. April 14 – Montreal, QC @ Le Ministere
Mon. April 15 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern
Wed. April 17 – Chicago, IL @ The Hideout
Fri. April 19 – Sioux Falls, SD @ Total Drag Records
Tue. April 23 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Thu. April 25 – Los Angeles, CA @ Lodge Room
Sat. May 11 – Berlin, DE @ Berghain Kantine
Mon. May 13 – Hamburg, DE @ Aalhaus
Tue. May 14 – Cologne, DE @ Olympia
Sat. May 18 – St. Gallen, CH @ Palace
Tue. May 21 – Vevey, CH @ Rocking Chair
Sun. May 26 – Manchester, UK @ Yes (YesFest)
Mon. May 27 – Glasgow, UK @ The Hug and Pint
Tue. May 28 – Bristol, UK @ The Louisiana
Wed. May 29 – London, UK @ Moth Club
Sat. July 6 – Yellow Springs, OH @ Springsfest