Sub Pop shares METZ debut LP details & lead single “Headache”, On tour this August!

Sub Pop shares METZ debut LP details & lead single “Headache”!
On tour this August!

METZ available in North America / Europe October 9th &
In UK October 15th via Sub Pop
Stream Metz’s debut record here
Download “Headache” here

The album features 11 tracks including the lead single, “Headache,” along with standouts “Wet Blanket,” “Knife in the Water” and “Negative Space.” The album was produced by METZ, and recorded by Graham Walsh (Holy Fuck) at Barn Window and Basketball 4 Life, and Alexandre Bonenfant at Dreamhouse Studios. The full album track list is below.

METZ’s previously announced tour dates continue with a one-off performance on August 3rd in Sackville, NB at Sappyfest. The band will then head out on a weeklong tour, beginning August 24th in Chicago, IL at Bottom Lounge and ending September 1st in Brooklyn, NY at Death By Audio. A full list of tour dates is below.

More on METZ:
There are always a few naturally resourceful people who refuse to be intimidated or excluded from making their own wild racket in public. As METZ, Alex Edkins, Hayden Menzies and Chris Slorach play like one brutally heavy instrument with three heads, slashing heavy-gauge strings, bending guitar and bass necks in weird unison, along with what is probably the loudest drumming ever heard.It’s a return to loud, ecstatic live music, while still carving out some heavy new business. Over the last three-and-a-half years, METZ have slayed in basements, skate shops, clubs, and festivals, sharing stages with Mission of Burma, Death from Above 1979, Archers of Loaf, Mudhoney, Oneida, Constantines, and NoMeansNo.

They play the instruments, the amps, and the room.

It’s a formidable task to try and capture such a powerful live band on record. Luckily, Graham Walsh (Holy Fuck) and Alexandre Bonenfant were more than up for it. Isolating the band in an old barn for a week with a portable recording rig, Walsh and Bonenfant were not only successful in documenting the unrelenting live force of the band, but they also managed to add some new and staggering sonic textures to the recording. Waves of organic feedback and fuzzed-out drones build the classic tension that eventually drops into each track’s relentless, dissonant pulse. And somehow, the raddest thing about it all is the songwriting. It’s not just riffs. It’s something that some heavy bands don’t get, but METZ do really well—and they do it collectively. It’s a hell of an experience, listening to this thing.
(read more at Sub Pop).

Track List:
1. Headache
2. Get Off
3. Sad Pricks
4. Rats
5. Knife in the Water
6. Nausea
7. Wet Blanket
8. Wasted
9. The Mule
10. Negative Space
11. — )) —

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.