Stella Donnelly Drops “How Was Your Day?”

Stella Donnelly shares new single "How Was Your Day"? The track is off the singer/songwriter's forthcoming release Flood, out August 26
Stella Donnelly shares new single "How Was Your Day"?

Singer/songwriter Stella Donnelly has shared a new video for “How Was Your Day?,” a track lifted from her forthcoming album Flood, available August 26th via Secretly Canadian. “Level-headedness has made way for a disastrous love,” she drops casually. “I know it, you know it.” Of the track, Donnelly says: “This is my attempt at building a song out of a very specific dynamic between two monogamously involved people. The verses are just excerpts from real conversations, fragments of what two people talk about when they both know they need to have a real talk but neither wants to be the one to bring it up. This song came out of lockdown and seeing a lot of friends break up or get married.”

Directed by Nick Mckk and Claire Giuffre, the “How Was Your Day?” accompanying video is playfully macabre, juxtaposing shots of soccer games and car wrecks to uncanny effect. “This video does a really good job of portraying how annoying I am!,” Donnelly says. “We shot it from opposite sides of the world which was a little bit stressful but a lot of fun.”

Following Beware of the Dogs, Flood is Donnelly’s record of rediscovery: the product of months of risky experimentation, hard moments of introspection, and a lot of transition. It presents Stella in abundance: her inner child, her nurturing self, her nightmare self. Like the many Banded Stilts that spread across the cover, Donnelly is wading into uncharted territory: learning who she is as an artist and experiencing how prolific an individual can be while thriving in a collective. “It freshened things up for sure,” Donnelly says, and writing with band members Jennifer Aslett, George Foster, Jack Gaby and Marcel Tussie, felt like a kindergarten play, with co-producers Anna Laverty and Methyl Ethyl’s Jake Webb helping to foster an important spontaneity in the studio. “They all brought themselves to the record in such a beautiful way. A lot of us were playing instruments that weren’t our first instrument: me on piano, Jack doing all these synth sounds, George trying a bunch of stuff out, Marcel sang! It was quite vulnerable for all of us.” Flood revels in this.

Stella Donnelly 2022 Tour Dates

Sun. Sept. 11 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah
Mon. Sept. 12 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Roxy Theatre
Tue. Sept. 13 – San Francisco, CA @ Independent
Thu. Sept. 15 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Fri. Sept. 16 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret
Sat. Sept. 17 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos
Wed. Sept. 21 – Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line Music Cafe
Thu. Sept. 22 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Fri. Sept. 23 – Detroit, MI @ Sanctuary
Sat. Sept. 24 – Toronto, ON @ Longboat Hall
Mon. Sept. 26 – Boston, MA @ Crystal Ballroom
Wed. Sept. 28 – Brooklyn, NY @ Elsewhere
Fri. Sept. 30 – Philadelphia, PA @ World Cafe Live
Sat. Oct. 1 – Washington, DC @ Songbyrd
Tue. Nov. 1 – Leeds, UK @ Wardrobe
Wed. Nov. 2 – Glasgow @ Mono
Thu. Nov. 3 – Manchester @ Band On The Wall
Fri. Nov. 4 – Dublin, IE @ Whelan’s
Sun. Nov. 6 – Liverpool, UK @ Zanzibar
Tue. Nov. 8 Nottingham, UK @ Metronome
Wed. Nov. 9 – Bristol, UK @ Thekla
Thu. Nov. 10 – London, UK @ Electric Brixton
Sat. Nov. 12 – Cardiff, UK @ The Gate
Sun. Nov. 13 – Birmingham, UK @ Hare and Hounds
Mon. Nov. 14 – Brighton, UK @ Komedia
Wed. Nov. 16 – Paris, FR @ FMR
Thu. Nov. 17 – Cologne, DE @ Artheatre
Fri. Nov. 18 – Brussels, BE @ Rotonde – Botanique
Sun. Nov. 20 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet
Mon. Nov. 21 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow Skybar
Tue. Nov. 22 – Copenhagen, DK @ Hotel Cecil
Thu. Nov. 24 – Berlin, DE @ Badehaus
Fri. Nov. 25 – Munich, DE @ Strom !

! w/ Julia Jacklin

Pre order Flood by Stella Donnelly HERE