Squarepusher remixes Michael Gordon’s Timber

Electronic Music Icon Squarepusher Remixes Michael Gordon's "Timber"

Timber Remixed features many of contemporary electronic music’s most legendary practitioners reworking Timber, a piece scored for six 2x4s composed by Bang On A Can’s Michael Gordon. One of the most unique takes on the piece comes courtesy of Squarepusher, who constructs a bass line out of a ghost-melody emerged due to wood’s harmonic interactions, overlaying it with synthesizers and manipulated fragments of the original performance by Mantra Percussion. The video premiered this morning along with an in-depth exploration of the piece with Gordon on Noisey, and it was directed by Joseph Cashiola and David Fenster. The video’s meditative images of the desert

In his interview with Noisey, Michael Gordon said, “Everyone doing these remixes is incredibly creative and, in their own right, doing really interesting work. From someone like Jóhann Jóhannsson, who is really a composer and much closer to what I’m doing, and then it spreads out from there…it’s a pretty eclectic group of people.”

With contributors ranging from the European elite (Jóhann Jóhannsson, Fennesz, Hauschka) to the vanguard of North American producers (Tim Hecker, Oneohtrix Point Never) to longtime boundary-pushing percussionists (Greg Saunier of Deerhoof, Ikue Mori of DNA, Ian Williams of Battles), Timber Remixed is a dynamic collection that transcends the “remix album” genre by reinventing the piece at every turn.

Mantra Percussion is: Joe Bergen, Al Cerulo, Chris Graham, Mike McCurdy, Jude Traxler, Owen Weaver and Nick Woodbury

Timber Remixed – by Michael Gordon, Performed by Mantra Percussion
(October 28th, 2016 – Cantaloupe Music)

Disc 1

1. Jóhann Jóhannsson

2. Sam Pluta

3. Tim Hecker

4. Fennesz

5. Oneohtrix Point Never

6. Greg Saunier

7. HPRIZM/High Priest of APC

8. Ian Williams

9. Squarepusher

10. Ikue Mori

11. Mira Calix

12. Hauschka

Disc 2
1. Mantra Percucussion – Timber Live