Speedy Wunderground Release Hot Face Track

Speedy Wunderground release Hot Face new single "dura dura
Hot Face photo by Abbie Coombs

Speedy Wunderground, the revered London-based indie label headed up by producer Dan Carey alongside Alexis Smith and Pierre Hall, reaches 10 years old in 2023. The fast-moving, ever-evolving creative force that is Speedy has seen numerous professional accolades and personal triumphs over that time, always acting on intuition and their own terms.

Fresh from announcing a series of events and releases in celebration of their anniversary year (including a 10-disc ‘dubs’ box set, huge Village Underground party in September), the release of the critically acclaimed debut-EP from South-London auteur Heartworms and a triumphant first trip to SXSW – the label now pulls focus back to what it originally became famous for – it’s iconic single series.

Next in line to join the prestigious SW alumni are London’s mysteriously enigmatic Hot Face (Sam Catchpole – Drums / George Cannell – Bass / James Bates – Guitar and Vox) – with their debut offering ‘dura dura’. A jagged, buzzsaw of a tune that recalls early King Gizzard, Vanishing Point-era Primal Scream and 60s psychedelic British pop. The band leave the beauty firmly in the ear of the beholder, proclaiming ‘you’ll either love it or run from it’.

Having seen the band for the first time at the ever-influential Brixton Windmill open up for Carey’s new outfit Miss Tiny – the label fell in love immediately, inviting them to play at Speedy’s annual Xmas Party a few months later. ‘The songs were amazing’ recalls label co-runner Hall, ‘but it was the speed and the ferociousness of which they attacked them. I was really impressed. It’s like that perfect combination of melody and intent. I loved it.’

When asked to describe themselves the band furnish us with the following declaration:

‘Fast, playful and scary. The rest you can decide for yourself.’

And that we will.

Hot Face Live Dates:

13th May – Fiddlers Elbow, Brighton (Alternative Escape, 1.30am set time)
18th May – Lexington, London (with Joyeria & Miss Tiny)
19th May – Paper Dress Vintage, London (with Fat Concubine and Media Giant)
20th May – The Shacklewell Arms, London (with Children Of The Pope & Bande To Part)

Speedy Wunderground ‘The Dubs – Vol 1.’ Box Set – comes out 4th August and features:

Archie Bronson Outfit, Toy, Natasha Khan, Scottibrains, JUCE!, Kae Tempest, Loyle Carner, Telegram, Teleman, Peluché, Melt Yourself Down, DEWEY, black midi, Black Country, New Road, All We Are, Alex Kapranos, Tiña, Pynch, PVA, Brodka, moa moa, deep tan and Honeyglaze.


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.