“Speeding Ticket” by Stef Chura

Following the release of her debut album Messes, earlier this year, Detroit indie rocker Stef Chura today announces her signing to Saddle Creek.

Saddle Creek will reissue Messes on CD, Cassette and LP – including a limited run of 150 coloured vinyl exclusively on the Saddle Creek store – on Feb 2nd, with the album available digitally now, ahead of new material from Chura in the near future. The news comes accompanied by a new video for album closer “Speeding Ticket,” which she describes as “a song I wrote 10 years ago that deals with losing a friendship and missing that person so badly that you are forced into having lucid dreams with them in it. Spending time with them in the dream was something I really looked forward to.”

The clip, directed and animated by Tempe Hale and Ambar Navarro, places Chura in the midst of melancholic, neon-noir nightlife – the kind that perfectly brings to life the understated longing and discomfort at the track’s core with a mesmerizing combination of live-action and quietly unsettling stop-motion.

Stef Chura

1. Slow Motion
2. You
3. Thin
4. Human Being
5. Faded Heart
6. Spotted Gold
7. Time to Go
8. Messes
9. On and Off For You
10. Becoming Shadows
11. Speeding Ticket


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.