Sparks announce details of new album

Sparks announce details of new album 'Hippopotamus'

Indie legends, Sparks (featuring Californian brothers Ron and Russell Mael) will release their new studio album Hippopotamus on September 8 via BMG, accompanied by the first European dates of The Hippopotamus Tour (U.S. dates to be announced).

Recorded in Los Angeles, Hippopotamus sees them take the pop form, shake it up, and create an album that is adventurous, fresh and idiosyncratically ‘Sparks’. Described as “the smartest, most consistently evolving band in the history of rock”, and internationally-acclaimed as pop pioneers, Sparks’ music has always been innovative and instantly identifiable. The title track, first played on BBC Radio 6 Music, was released as a single at midnight Friday March 24 after the band performed it along with three other songs from the album, in their set at the 6 Music Festival in Glasgow.


01. Probably Nothing
02. Missionary Position
03. Edith Piaf (Said It Better Than Me)
04. Scandinavian Design
05. Giddy Giddy
06. What The Hell Is It This Time?
07. Unaware
08. Hippopotamus
09. Bummer
10. I Wish You Were Fun
11. So Tell Me Mrs. Lincoln Aside From That How Was The Play?
12. When You’re A French Director (featuring Leos Carax)
13. The Amazing Mr. Repeat
14. A Little Bit Like Fun
15. Life With The Macbeths