“Sounds Like Mean Spirit” Monograms

"Sounds Like Mean Spirit" by Monogram is Northern Transmissions' 'Song of the Day'
"Sounds Like Mean Spirit" by Monogram

Monograms have shared their new single “Sounds Like Mean Spirit.” Earlier this week, the band announced their hometown release show on September 21st at The Broadway in Brooklyn (AdHoc Presents) with Big Bliss, Russian Baths and Jelly Kelly (purchase tickets here). Living Wire LP is due out September 20th via PaperCup Music.

The largest looming concept behind this album and the songs written on Living Wire is about the current state of creativity and the controlled environment that we exist within – a not so subtle jab at the state of technology and the constant noise that revolves around us, within social media, moderne life and everywhere – a buzzing choir, a living wire. With all the distractions, pop ups, influencers and stimuli in modern life, it can prove difficult to quiet that noise and focus on what you want to make. Additionally, A “live wire” is a person or object with so much energy that it becomes completely unpredictable or combustable, and the connotation is very polarizing: positive or negative, but either way overwhelming. Jacobs sees himself as one of these types. It’s hard for him to sit still and that’s not always a good or bad thing, but therein lies the challenge: quieting the noise long enough to create something, in this case, a record, that is based on his own reflections.

It was important to Jacobs to make somewhat of an about-face with this album and try some different techniques based on the music he was listening to, which was lots of 80’s era pop music, 90’s era college radio rotations, as well as a variety of electronic music from the past four decades. Having the ability to record a lot of components of the tracks at home in his makeshift home studio allows for a lot of experimentation, so some songs were started there, while others were workshopped with the band in a rehearsal or live setting or written fully in the studio. At the helm was producer/mixer Ben Rice, whose creative fingerprints are all over the record, Rice and Jacobs produced the record together and Rice mixed the entire album at his studio in Brooklyn, Degraw Sound.

Living Wire
Papercup Music

01. Buzz Choir
02. Sounds Like Mean Spirit
03. Don’t Fight For It
04. Nose Dive
05. Common Circles
06. Century
07. Garbage Can
08. Pirate Government, Inc.