SON LUX Signs To Glassnote, scores film

SON LUX: signs to Glassnote. to Release film score to 'The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby'

Son Lux has signed with Glassnote Entertainment Europe. Their first release together will be Son Lux’s original score to movie ‘The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby’ which will be available from November 4th.

Son Lux is led by Ryan Lott. After his first record, At War With Walls and MazesSon Lux released two EPs and two LPs since, including 2011’s We Are Rising LPambitiously written and recorded in just 28 days. In 2013, Son Lux released Lanterns, to critical acclaim, which he most recently re-imagined as the Alternate Worlds EP. The Alternate Worlds EP reworks four songs from Lanterns and features Lorde.

Son Lux, never one to keep to one project, As such, few artists have built a more impressive and varied array of collaborators; Pop icons LordeBeyoncé producer Boots and Richard Parry (Arcade Fire), indie darlings Sufjan Stevens (with whom he shares the side project Sisyphus) and Peter Silberman (The Antlers), composers Nico Muhly and Pulitzer Prize winner Caroline Shaw, rappers Serengeti, Busdriver and Beans (Antipop Consortium), and MacArthur Genius Grant recipient and Bluegrass legend Chris Thile are all among Son Lux’s recent collaborators.

Son Lux has also composed music for film, theater and dance. Most recently, Son Lux has written and arranged the score for The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby, starring James McAvoy and Jessica Chastain, in theaters now. Of the score, Ryan Lott states, “Jessica Chastain’s character in the film is like glass; She is both rigid and extremely fragile. This inspired me to explore the sonic potential of tuned wine glasses, which became the primary source of sound and texture for the score.”

The score will be available on November 4th via Glassnote Records. Fans can preorder the score here and will instantly receive a download of ‘No Fate Awaits Me.

Lott explains, “’No Fate Awaits Me” appears in the closing scene of two of the three versions of the film, and was fittingly the last piece I wrote for the score. It features Faux Fix, whose voice appears and fades like a ghost throughout the album.”

Son Lux is working on a new album for release in 2015 and is about to kick off a full tour of Europe, including stops at the Pitchfork Music Festival in Paris on October 31st and the Iceland Airwaves Festival on November 8th, 2014. Full tracklisting for the score and all tour dates are below.

‘The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby’ track listing:

  1. Fireflies
  2. No Fate Awaits Me (feat. Faux Fix)
  3. Disappearance
  4. Silence I
  5. Let Me Follow
  6. Lonely
  7. Race to Erase
  8. Trailing Memory
  9. Silence II
  10.  Almost Crossing
  11.  After It All (feat. Faux Fix)
  12. Silence III

Son Lux tour dates:

29 – Soy Festival (Stereolux) – Nantes, FR
30 – Rockomotives Festival (Le Minotaure) – Vendome, FR
31 – Pitchfork Festival (Grande Halle de la Villette) – Paris, FR
1 – B Sides Festival – Lucerne, CH
2 – Beautés Soniques Festival – Namur, BE
4 – Meet Factory – Prague, CZ
5 – Pod Minoga Club – Poznan, PL
6 – Basen – Warsaw, PL
8 – Iceland Airwaves – Reykjavik, IS
22 – Le Guess Who Festival – Utrecht, NL

23 – Nochtspeicher – Hamburg, DE
24 – Schwutz – Berlin, DE
25 – Gebäude 9 – Cologne, DE
26 – Ground Zero Festival (Le Grand Mix) – Lille, FR
27 – La Cartonnerie – Reims, FR
28 – Le Consortium – Dijon, FR
29 – PULS Festival, Munich, DE
1 – Arena – Vienna, AT
2 – Miela Theatre – Trieste, IT
3 – Circolo Degli Artisti – Rome, IT
4 – Winter Plissken Festival (Gazi Music Hall) –Athens, GR
5 – Winter Plissken Festival (Block 33) – Thessaloniki, GR

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.