SON LUX Expand European Tour, Share New Video

SON LUX: New video for 'Lanterns Lit', more European dates & soundtrack to Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby, SON LUX plays September 19 in Los Angeles

Following triumphant sets at both Latitude & Longitude Festivals this month. Today, the New York song-smith shares a new video for ‘Lanterns Lit’.

The track is taken from last year’s full length album for Joyful Noise Recordings, ‘Lanterns’ and this new clip was directed and produced by SJ Finlay, with visual effects by Nisha Kumkeaw and coloring by David Tomiak (Brass Tacks Films). About the process of creating the video, Finlay said “This music video was made while shooting promotional materials for Hope for the Nations as well as a short film to help children at risk in South East Asia.” To keep updated about the release of that film, follow #ChildrenofChange.

Son Lux will embark on West Coast US tour starting on September 19. After those shows the live group, which sees Ryan Lott accompanied by Rafiq Bhatia on guitar and Ian Chang on drums, will start a string of European dates, beginning at the Soy Festival in Nantes, France and ending at the Circolo Degli Artisti in Rome, Italy. The current list of tour dates can be found below.

The tour follows the May 27 release of the Alternate Worlds EP, which featured reimagined versions of the tracks from Lanterns. In addition to ‘Build A Pyre (Begin Again),’ Alternate Worlds features a collaboration with Lorde on ‘Easy (Switch Screens),’ which came to be after the New Zealand breakout star began covering the original version live.

Released late last year, Lanterns sees Son Lux (aka Ryan Lott) at the helm of an ensemble of instrumentalists and singers, including Chris Thile (The Punch Brothers), Peter Silberman (The Antlers), DM StithLily & MadeleineDarren King (Mutemath), Ieva Berberian (Gem Club) and yMusic (Dirty ProjectorsBon Iver). Meditative but heaving with energy, Lanterns finds a peculiar congruency between futuristic soul and ancient sentiment. Driving orchestral pop (“Lost It To Trying,” “No Crimes”) is placed alongside creepy minimalism (“Pyre,” “Enough Of Our Machines”), often starkly juxtaposing densely layered arrangements with Lott’s intimate voice.

Beyond releasing Alternate Worlds and worldwide touring, Son Lux released an album with Sisyphus, his collaborative project with Sufjan Stevens and rapper Serengeti, whose self-titled debut was released on March 18th via Joyful Noise / Asthmatic Kitty. Additionally, Lott is a featured songwriter, producer and performer on ‘Troubled World’ off WinterSpringSummerFall, the new mixtape fromBeyonce producer BOOTS.

Son Lux also recently scored the upcoming film The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby, due this September. Lott, equal parts producer and composer, has been delving into further collaborations as Son Lux, with more details to be unveiled in the coming months.

Alternate Worlds  track list:

1. Alternate World (Alternate Age)
2. Easy (Switch Screens) feat. Lorde
3. Build A Pyre (Begin Again)
4. Lost It To Trying (Mouths Only Lying)

Son Lux tour dates:

19 – The Roxy – Los Angeles, CA
20 – Independent – San Francisco, CA
22 – Doug Fir Lounge – Portland, OR
23 – Biltmore Cabaret – Vancouver, BC
24 – Decibel Festival @ The Crocodile – Seattle, WA
29 – Soy Festival (Stereolux) – Nantes, FR
30 – Rockomotives Festival (Le Minotaure) – Vendome, FR
31 – Pitchfork Festival (Grande Halle de la Villette) – Paris, FR
1 – B Sides Festival – Lucerne, CH
2 – Beautés Soniques Festival – Namur, BE
4 – Meet Factory – Prague, CZ
5 – Pod Minoga Club – Poznan, PL
6 – Basen – Warsaw, PL
8 – Iceland Airwaves – Reykjavik, IS
22 – Le Guess Who Festival – Utrecht, NL
23 – Nochtspeicher – Hamburg, DE
24 – Schwutz – Berlin, DE
25 – Gebäude 9 – Cologne, DE
26 – Ground Zero Festival (Le Grand Mix) – Lille, FR
27 – La Cartonnerie – Reims, FR
28 – Le Consortium – Dijon, FR
1 – Arena – Vienna, AT
3 – Circolo Degli Artisti – Rome, IT

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.