“Solipsism” Fenne Lily

“Solipsism” by Fenne Lily is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day
“Solipsism” by Fenne Lily

Fenne Lily, recently dropped “Solipsism,” off her forthcoming release, BREACH, out September 18th via Dead Oceans. “Solipsism,” follows “Berlin” and “Alapathy” and standalone singles “To Be a Woman Pt. 2” and “Hypochondriac.” “Solipsism” is a hazy lo-fi rock number, written in an attempt to create “something that sounded cheerful, about something really not cheerful.” The song deals with the anxieties of a social media driven generation, “because everyone is sharing everything, and everyone’s comparing their lives to other people’s.” Fenne sighs her age of 21 (“one and twentyyyyy… ohhh”) over the strident surge of guitar fuzz, as she sings about the pressure to have more fun in her 20s, and the solipsism that keeps her awake.

“A lot of situations make me uncomfortable — some parties, most dates, every time I’m stoned in the supermarket,” says Fenne. “‘Solipsism’ is a song about being comfortable with being uncomfortable and the freedom that comes with that. If you feel weird for long enough it becomes normal, and feeling anything is better than feeling nothing. I wanted this video to be a reflection of the scary thought that I’ll have to live with myself forever. It’s surreal to realise you’ll never live apart from someone you sometimes hate. Dad, if you’re reading this you killed it as shopper number 2.”

Clover comments, ““I asked Fenne what products she wanted to be and then worked backwards from there with the illustrators. Most of the references came from Asian Supermarket packaging – they are way more interesting. The most important thing was making sure that it reflected upon Fenne’s personality – there’s a bunch of details you might miss on the first watch!”

Fenne Lily
Tour Dates:

Fri. April 30 – Brussels, BE @ Grand Salon
Sat. May 1 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet
Mon. May 3 – Hamburg, DE @ Nochtspeicher
Tue. May 4 – Copenhagen, DK @ Ideal Bar
Thu. May 6 – Berlin, DE @ Frannz
Fri. May 7 – Munich, DE @ Mila
Sat. May 8 – Zurich, SE @ Exil
Sun. May 9 – Milan, IT @ Magnolia
Tue. May 11 – Frankfurt, DE @ Das Bett
Wed. May 12 – Paris, FR @ Le Pop Up
Mon. May 17 – Leicester, UK @ The Cookie
Tue. May 18 – Liverpool, UK @ Phase One
Wed. May 19 – Dublin, IE @ The Workman’s Club
Fri. May 21 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Sat. May 22 – Glasgow, UK @ King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut
Sun. May 23 – Birmingham, UK @ Dead Wax
Tue. May 25 – Manchester, UK @ Deaf Institute
Wed. May 26 – London, UK @ Omeara
Thu. May 27 – Cambridge, UK @ The Portland Arms
Fri. May 28 – Bristol, UK @ Thekla