“Soak My Head” By Meltt

"Soak My Head" By Meltt is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day. The track is now available via Nettwerk Records and DSPs
Meltt photo by Zachary Vague

Meltt play a unique style of psych-rock, with sprinkles of shoegaze. Throughout the global pandemic, the Vancouver band wrote their EP Another Quiet Sunday during sessions with co-producer Kieran Wagstaff. Eventually, they spent a month in a remote cabin together where they feverishly wrote the follow-up album Eternal Embers. Meltt features Chris Smith (lead vocals, guitar, bass, keys), Jamie Turner (drums, percussion), James Porter (guitar, keys, vocals), and Ian Winkler (guitar). The band recently shared album-track “Soak My Head.”

The band discuss:

“Soak My Head:”

“Sometimes, I get trapped scrolling on social media,” confesses Chris. “You get addicted to the dopamine rush of digital life, so you poke your head into cold water or nature to cleanse and re- ground yourself.”

Eternal Embers

“We want you to go on a journey with this album,” Jamie concludes. “Even though we deal with darker themes, it ends on a positive note. I’d like for you to have this big cinematic ride but end in a positive place. There’s always light at the end.”

Order “Soak My Head” by Meltt HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.