Slim Twig To Release New Album On DFA Records

Slim Twig To Release A Hound At The Hem October 28th Via DFA Records,

Slim Twig is the name of a man, not of a band – though he has performed in many a group, some under his own moniker. Boasting a catalogue several under-the-radar releases deep, the Toronto native lays claim to a tremendously original work with his orchestrally-inflected, art rock album, A Hound At The Hem. Originally released on vinyl in an extremely limited run via Twig’s own Calico Corp label and Pleasence RecordsDFA Records will give A Hound At The Hem its proper release on October 28th. Self-produced in fall 2010 and featuring string arrangements by Owen PallettA Hound At The Hem is a suite of narrative songs thematically inspired by Vladimir Nabokov’s Lolita. As a concept album exploring the troubling and the taboo and themes like the transformative power of lust, A Hound At The Hem can be interpreted as an echolike response to Serge Gainsbourg and Jean-Claude Vannier’s Histoire De Melody Nelson.

1. Heavy Splendour
2. Clerical Collar
3. Widow Were You Younger
4. Shroud By The Sheetful
5. All This Wanting
6. Hover On A Sliver
7. Maintain The Charade
8. Blonde Ascending (Come Into The Clatter)

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.