Sky Ferreira announces UK Release Date For LP

Sky Ferreira announces UK release date for debut LP 'Night Time, My Time', March 17th on Polydor; The video for lead single 'You're Not The One'. is now out

This spring sees the  UK arrival of the debut album from Sky Ferreira, “Night Time, My Time”, released March 17th on Polydor.

Signed at 17 to Parlophone, Ferreira released crisp pop singles like “One” and “Obsession” before creative struggles and endless delays brought things to a standstill. Then, out of nowhere, came the her 2013 single “Everything is Embarrassing”, co-written with Dev Hynes, which signaled a sharp leftfield turn and provided the keys to her creative seachange – reintroducing Ferreira as a young woman very much in control of her own off-kilter creative destiny.

As a result, “Night Time, My Time” is Ferreira herself writ large, an intensely personal vision which coalesces her very distinctive tastes into a coherent whole, from her love for artists such as Suicide and Cat Power to counterculture filmmakers like Gaspar Noe (who shot the provocative artwork) and David Lynch (whose film “Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me” inspired the title track).

Grunged up opener “Boys” and “24 Hours” (with its towering chorus that wouldn’t sound out of place over the credits scroll of a John Hughes film) effortlessly soar and glide into the stratosphere. Lead single “You’re Not the One”  genuflects towards forebears like Siouxsie and the Banshees and Blondie. Then there’s the slew of songs that Ferreira recorded with producers Ariel Rechtshaid and Justin Raisen mere weeks before delivering the final record – a  revelatory six song set which includes the churning love song “Heavy Metal Heart”, “I Blame Myself” (which marries the album’s simplest melodies and most complex, conflicting sentiments) and the narcotized, emotionally worn title track, which, with its lysergic strings and stinging lyrics like “I’m useless, and I know it” can in many ways be seen as the album centerpiece.

January 30
Tax Free @ The Basement

1. Boys
2. Ain’t Your Right
3. 24 Hours
4. Nobody Asked Me (If I Was Okay)
5. I Blame Myself
6. Omanko
7. You’re Not the One
8. Heavy Metal Heart
9. Kristine
10. I Will
11. Love In Stereo
12. Night Time, My Time
13. Everything is Embarrassing
14. Everything is Embarrassing (Unknown Mortal Orchestra Remix)


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.