“Sky at Night” By Laura Groves

Laura Groves (fka Blue Roses) today announces her new album Radio Red due out August 11 via Bella Union. The LP is her first for the label and follows her EP A Private Road, released in late 2020. To coincide with the announcement Groves has shared a self-directed and edited video for lead-single “Sky at Night”.

Radio Red, was written, produced and recorded by Groves in her studio, watched over by two radio transmitting towers. “I became very drawn to them and they became like symbols to me; they were always awake, sending their messages, the red lights always came on at night and watched over whatever was going on in my life.” The album deals with themes of communication – missed and intercepted signals, chance meetings, synchronicities, the channels through which we try to express our true feelings, the outside interference that can get in the way and the joy of letting go and allowing the messages to flow freely.

A singer all her life, Groves has spent over a decade developing a practice as an autonomous multi-instrumentalist and recording artist as well as a collaborator (Darkstar, Sampha), releasing EPs on DEEK Recordings and the 2020 EP A Private Road on Bella Union. Much of the creation of Radio Red was solitary, but a small group of people helped bring it to fruition. A meeting with mix engineer TJ Allen (Portishead, Adrien Utley) through her work in Bat for Lashes’ live band led to an important creative relationship. “Working with Tim provided me with a safe and nurturing studio environment in which to finish the record. It also means a lot to have Sampha’s voice on “D 4 N” and “Good Intention”, because we first met near the beginning of this journey and so much has happened since then – singing together again feels like coming full circle in the most positive way and a reminder that there are constants running through it all.”

Laura Groves
Radio Red
Bella Union

1. Sky at Night
2. Good Intention
3. Synchronicity
4. D 4 N
5. I’m Not Crying
6. Any Day Now
7. Time
8. Sarah
9. Make A Start
10. Silver Lining

Pre-order Radio Red by Laura Groves HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.