sir Was Debuts “Before The Morning Comes”

sir Was Debuts "Before The Morning Comes." The new single is now available via Memphis Industries, and off sir Was' LP Let The Morning Come
sir Was Debuts "Before The Morning Comes"

Swedish producer and multi-instrumentalist, sir Was AKA: Joel Wästberg, has shared his new single, “Before The Morning Comes,” which is set to feature on the new FIFA 2022 soundtrack, also announced today. The track is off his new album, Let The Morning Come which arrives on October 15, via Memphis Industries sir Was is set to perform live at Chats Palace, London on October 21, 2021. Speaking about this new single, “Before The Morning Comes”, Joel says: “This is a song about waiting, hoping, and longing for change. Some of these nights are just too long and we gotta get somewhere before the morning comes.”

2020 was supposed to be Wästberg’s big year, the multi-artist was booked to open for Little Dragon across Europe and the US. When the tour was cancelled due to COVID, he decided to channel all his energies into writing new music instead, but in August of 2020, he received some life-changing news. Tests revealed he carried the gene for a rare, hereditary condition causing multiple strokes.

“At first I got very sad and scared,” says Joel of the devastating diagnosis. “But at the same time, it was like all the other worries I carried suddenly didn’t matter. I just got this very intense feeling of being alive.”

This dichotomy lies at the heart of his beautifully bittersweet third LP. Meditating on love, growth, self-acceptance, forgiveness, mortality and the passing of time, Let The Morning Come, which arrives self-produced by Joel, contains his most candid writing to date. And yet, for all the heartache that comes with being cruelly confronted with one’s own mortality, the prevailing impression Wästberg leaves listeners with is one of hope, resulting in a collection that is life-affirming in the very truest sense

sir Was, has performed and collaborated with Little Dragon, Efterklang’s Clasper Clausen, Falle Nioke (on the recent collaborative Marasi EP) and Junip as well as performing at Eurosonic, Mad Cool and Benicassim Festivals.

Pre-order Let The Morning Come HERE

sir Was
Let The Morning Come
Memphis Industries

1. Hope We’ll Make It Through
2. I Need A Minute
3. Spend A Lifetime
4. Before The Morning Comes
5. One Day
6. I Don’t Think We Should Wait
7. Waiting For The Weekend
8. You Float
9. I Wanna Feel Like That
10. Time To Let it Out


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.