Sic Alps announce self-titled fifth album

With the self-titled Sic Alps album now ready to hit on September 11th via Drag City, we’re looking at another fresh dawn in the storied history of a band. But what really is the story anyway?

During Pavement’s “One More for the Money” tour of 2010, Sic Alps played some British gigs with them – it’s been written that during one long night in Brixton, Stephen Malkmus was heard uttering within shot of a microphone that Sic Alps would be one of the most important bands of the next ten years. Not that we’re inclined to disagree, but Malkmus is a habitual liar, so who knows how apocryphal one can really be about that.

All speculation aside, here are the facts as we know them: Sic Alps will be the fifth album from Sic Alps, if you include the compilation album Long Way Around to a Shortcut, which we do. There’s been a number of singles and some splits and who knows, we may be looking at a second way around to a shortcut someday soon. First though, we deal with the cracking and recasting of the mold that comes when you start to hear the sounds of Sic Alps.

Sic Alps will tour in support of their new album this fall with Thee Oh Sees. A full list of dates is below.

Sic Alps’ Tour Dates
Sun. Sept. 9 – Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey Theatre *
Mon. Sept. 10 – San Diego, CA @ Bar Pink *
Tue. Oct. 2 – Missoula, MT @ VFW *
Wed. Oct. 3 – Calgary, AB @ Broken City *
Thu. Oct. 4 – Calgary, AB @ Broken City *
Sat. Oct. 6 – Vancouver, BC @ Rickshaw Theater *

* w/ Thee Oh Sees

Sic Alps Tracklisting:
1. Glyphs
2. God Bless Her, I Miss Her
3. Lazee Son
4. Polka Vat
5. Wake Up, It’s Over II
6. Drink Up!
7. Tylacine Man
8. Moviehead
9. Rock Races
10. See You On The Slopes

Sic Alps Online:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.