Shabazz Palaces shares “#CAKE” from new LP

Listen: Shabazz Palaces "#CAKE" + AFROPUNK August 23rd, their upcoming album Lese Majesty comes out on August 28th and 29th via sub pop records

You can now listen to Shabazz Palaces’ “#CAKE,” the latest offering from the group’s forthcoming 7-suite, 18-track Lese Majesty, available worldwide on CD / 2xLP / DL July 28th & 29th via Sub Pop. The “not the video” stream features GIF artwork from Christian Petersen of I Want You Magazine.

Shabazz Palaces 2014 summer tour schedule in support of Lese Majesty now includes a performance at Brooklyn’s AFROPUNK Festival on August 23rd. Please find a current list of tour dates below.

Shabazz Palaces’ Lese Majesty, the follow up to the groups label debut Black Up, is a sonic mythmap of new black wave and psychedelia, featuring highlights “They Come In Gold”, “Dawn In Luxor,” “#CAKE,” “Ishmael” and “Forerunner Foray.” Please find a complete tracklisting below.

Lese Majesty is available for preorder from Sub Pop MegamartiTunes, and Amazon now.  The double vinyl version is housed in a “shark skin” embossed jacket and includes a fold-out poster, and an etching on side D.  Preorders from will receive the limited edition “Loser” version on purple vinyl and a seven-inch of exclusive non-album track “The Palace Slide” and “The Palace Slide (Instrumental)” while supplies last.

Shabazz Palaces
Lese Majesty

Suite 1: “The Phasing Shift”:

1. “Dawn in Luxor”
2. “Forerunner Foray”
3. “They Come in Gold”


Suite 2: “Touch & Agree”:

4. “Solemn Swears”
5. “Harem Aria”
6. “Noetic Noiromantics”


7. “The Ballad of Lt. Maj. Winnings”


Suite 3: “Palace War Council Meeting”:

8. “Soundview”
9. “Ishmael”
10. “…down 155th in the MCM Snorkel”


Suite 4: “Pleasure Milieu”:

11. “Divine of Form”
12. “#CAKE”


Suite 5: “Federal Bureau Boys”:

13. “Colluding Oligarchs”
14. “Suspicion of a Shape”


Suite 6: “High Climb to the Gallows”

15. “Mind Glitch Keytar Theme”
16. “Motion Sickness”


Suite 7: “Murkings on the Oxblood Starway”:

17. “New Black Wave”
18. “Sonic Myth Map for the Trip Back”

Tour Dates:
Jul. 28 – Oakland, CA – The New Parish
Jul. 29 – Oakland, CA –  The New Parish
Jul. 30 – Los Angeles, CA – The Roxy
Aug. 21 – Washington, DC – Black Cat*
Aug. 22 – Philadelphia, PA – Union Transfer*
Aug. 23 – Brooklyn, NY – AFROPUNK @ Commodore Barry Park*
Oct. 22-26 – Helsinki, FI – Supermassive Festival
* w/ clipping.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.