“Séance” Modern Nature

Modern Nature has shared the lead-track “Séance,” off their album, How To Live, available August 23rd via Bella Union. Frontman Jack Cooper says, “Séance closes out the first half of the album and the intention was for it to represent an anxiety episode that descends into a breakdown, hence the cut up tape edits and collapse. The themes in the words hopefully come across in the way we played the song… It’s taught and stuttering, Will’s organ melody moving against the rhythm is my favorite part of the album. The ‘take shelter’ line is lifted from the Jeff Nichols film of the same name… the perfect study of existential dread and impending doom. I think it’s a pretty topical song…”

How To Live includes songs from Cooper and Will Young (Beak>), the thoughtful cello of Rupert Gillett, Aaron Neveu (Woods) on drums, and Jeff Tobias (Sunwatchers) on saxaphone.

Modern Nature
Tour

Sun. Aug. 18 – Brecon Beacons @ Green Man Festival
Fri. Aug. 23 – London @ Rough Trade East
Sat. Aug. 24 – Brighton @ Bella Union Store
Sat. Aug. 24 – London @ World of Echo
Sun. Aug. 25 – Nottingham @ Rough Trade
Fri. Sept. 13 – Leeds @ Brudenell Social Club
Sat. Sept. 14 – Flintshire @ Good Life Experience
Sun. Sept. 15 – Glasgow @ Freakender Festival
Tue. Sept. 17 – Manchester @ YES
Wed. Sept. 18 – Liverpool @ The Shipping Forecast
Thu. Sept. 19 – London @ The Courtyard Theatre
Fri. Sept. 20 – Margate @ Elsewhere
Sat. Sept. 21 – Bristol @ Louisiana