Sally Seltmann Announces LP ‘Hey Daydreamer’

Sally Seltmann Announces LP 'Hey Daydreamer'. The album will be released North America on March 4 on Arts & Crafts. The first single "Billy" is now out.

Australian songwriter Sally Seltmann has announced her new album, Hey Daydreamer, will arrive in North America on March 4 via Arts & Crafts. This will be Seltmann’s fourth full-length album; second to bear her name, after 2010’s Heart That’s Pounding, and two under the name New Buffalo. The album was recorded and produced in Seltmann’s home attic studio with her husband Darren Seltmann (The Avalanches), and features a number of guest musicians including Bree van Reyk on percussion, Michel Rose on pedal steel, and many more. Sally recorded piano parts on her lounge room piano and contributed synth, organ, guitar, bass & percussion to the recordings.

Seltmann premiered the first single from the album, “Billy”, and video – listen here/watch here – in November. The video was directed by Nelson Alves and perfectly captures the ’60s girl-group/”Stepford Wives”-noir of the song, about a woman losing her beloved man in a motorcycle crash, with Seltmann playing the grieving heroine in scenes that bring to mind “Mad Men” if directed by David Lynch. Seltmann has offered up a second track, “Needle In The Hay” via Soundcloud here.

Perhaps best known in the U.S. for co-writing Feist’s 2007 hit, “1234”, Seltmann has also toured with such artists as Jens Lekman, Stars, and Broken Social Scene. She is a member of Seeker Lover Keeper, while artists such as Bon Iver, have covered her songs.

Hey Daydreamer Track List:

01. Hey Daydreamer

02. Billy

03. The Small Hotel

04. Needle In The Hay

05. Dear Mr. Heartless

06. I Will Not Wear Your Wedding Ring

07. Right Back Where I Started From

08. Catch Of The Day

09. Seed Of Doubt

10. Holly Drive

11. States and Spaces

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.