“Run” By Lightening Dust

"Run" by Lightning Dust is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day. The track is off the Vancouver duo's forthcoming album Nostalgia Killer
"Run" by Lightning Dust is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day

Lightning Dust have announced their new album, Nostalgia Killer, will be arrive on June 9th, 2023, via Western Vinyl. The duo including Amber Webber and Joshua Wells has also shared lead single “Run,” a propulsive track led by the former’s astonishing voice and which reaches to a soaring, synth-laden crescendo. The song arrives alongside a video Webber describes as “a surrealist love letter to East Vancouver and the power of friendship,” co-created with her childhood friend Tyler McLeod (who handled filming and editing as well) and also featuring skate legend Chris Haslam.

“”Run” is about the determination to keep moving forward and loving hard. To convey this, I highlighted my favorite aspects of the city of Vancouver, with some of my favorite humans as characters (Juliana Moore, Joshua Anderson, Adrian Mciness, Chris Haslam). I chose to use rats because Vancouver’s got a special kinda grit to it that I think a city rat embodies perfectly. With the chugging movement of the song, rats on skateboards were a no brainer – plus it’s so fun!” she explains. “Much like the feelings I felt at the time of writing the song, I was lost, with little faith left. Like the rat, estranged from her pack and forced to adventure on her own. Similar to my own story, with the help of a new friendship, the lost rat is reunited and reconciled with her old world.”

Lightening Dust
Nostalgia Killer
track listing
Western Vinyl

1. Wrecked
2. Run
3. Rapids and Rivers
4. I Do
5. Fallen New
6. Different War
7. Feel That
8. Only You
9. 7 Year War
10. Shadow of Verona

Pre-order Nostalgia Killer by Lightening Dust HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.