Ruel Collaborates With Cautious Clay

Ruel shares new music video for "say it over" feat. Cautious Clay. The track is now available via RCA Records
Ruel "say it over" feat. Cautious Clay

Ruel has released a new video for “say it over.” The track features Cautious Clay, and off Ruel’s new EP Bright Lights, Red Eyes, available via RCA Records. The minimalist, black and white visuals of the Grey Ghost-directed video compliment a highly emotive visual performance from Ruel with a cameo from Cautious filmed in NY. Written entirely in Paris, the EP includes previously-released singles “courage,” which arrived with a 60’s mod-themed visualizer.

Bright Lights, Red Eyes is the third release from Ruel following last year’s Free Time, and his own, growing voice,” and arrives after his collaboration with Omar Apollo in October, “Want U Around,” which is featured on Apollo’s debut project Apolonio.

Speaking on the inspiration behind the EP, Ruel says: “I want to get across that this project is another step forward in maturity for me. Free Time was a step up from Ready, and this Bright Lights, Red Eyes EP is a step up again. This project was a stream of consciousness when I was writing it at the time, and I feel like that’s the way all projects and songs are for me. They are moments in time. This project isn’t who I am right now as I wrote these songs last year, but it’s the most mature you’ve ever heard me and it was me, in that moment in time. The songs I’m writing now will be more mature again, and I love that my fans can come on this journey with me as I grow.”

Bright Lights, Red Eyes
RCA Records
Track Listing

1. as long as you care
2. distance
3. courage
4. say it over feat. Cautious Clay
5. up to something