Romy Announces New Album Mid Air

Romy Announces New Album Mid Air, the xx members debut solo album, drops on June 8th via Young Recordings and DSPs
Romy Announces New Album Mid Air, the xx members debut solo album, drops on June 8th via Young Recordings

Romy announces details of her debut solo album Mid Air. The UK singer, songwriter and DJ, and member of The xx, will release the full-length
September 8th via Young.

Mid Air is an album about celebration, sanctuary and salvation on the dance floor. It's an album that deals with love, grief, relationships, identity and sexuality and is a love letter to the queer clubs where Romy found community and connection. It’s a coming-out album in a way, although she came out in her personal life a long time ago, but it’s also a coming-through album – through grief and heartache, towards euphoria.

The album sees Romy working alongside producers Fred again.. and Stuart Price, as well as her bandmate Jamie xx on recent single “Enjoy Your Life”. Also featuring the previous single (and crossover anthem) “Strong”, Mid Air is the perfect encapsulation of a sound Romy describes as “emotional music to dance to”. It’s a sound that’s set to unify dancefloors, distilling Romy’s love of club classics and classic song writing and finding the sweet spot – like much of Romy’s favourite music – between euphoria, escapism, sadness and melancholy.

To celebrate news of the album, Romy today releases her latest single, the Fred again..-produced “ Loveher ”. It’s a pivotal track for Romy and acts as both the album opener and the first song to be written for the record. Romy and Fred were first paired together to write songs for other people, but their fast friendship and musical connection proved to be a spark for something new. After writing “Loveher”, a declarative pop song about the intimacy of falling in love with a woman, “Fred asked me, who could this be for?” explains Romy “and I tentatively said… ‘maybe me?’”. A proud and positive queer love story, this was the beginning of Mid Air.

Mid Air
Young Recordings

1. Loveher
2. Weightless
3. The Sea
4. One Last Try
5. DMC
6. Strong ft. Fred Again..
7. Twice
8. Did I
9. Mid Air ft. Beverly Glenn-Copeland
10. Enjoy Your Life
11. She’s on My Mind

Romy 2023 Tour Dates

16 June Off Sonar, Barcelona, Spain 
17 June Pride Afterparty, Milan, Italy
26 June Glastonbury Festival, Pilton, UK
30 June Down The Rabbit Hole, Gelderland, Holland 
13 July Dour Festival, Dour, Belgium 
21 July Electric Castle, Cluj, Romania 
23 July Les Nuits Secretes, Mauberges, France 
29 July Fuji Rock, Japan 
05 August Trädgården, Stockholm, Sweden
07 August Circoloco, Ibiza 
25 August Rock En Seine, Paris, France 
28 August All Points East, London, UK

Pre-order Mid Air by Romy HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.