“Ripe For Consumption” Weeping Icon

"Ripe For Consumption" by Weeping Icon is Northern Transmissions' 'Song of the Day'
"Ripe For Consumption" Weeping Icon

Weeping Icon recently announced their forthcoming self-titled album will be out September 27th via Fire Talk and Kanine Records. With the announcement, the Brooklyn trio have shared the single “Ripe For Consumption.” The album follows the band’s 2017 release Eyeball Under. Weeping Icon have Shared stages with acts  Protomartyr, White Lung, PILL, Lydia Lunch and Flasher. Weeping Icon have been fixtures of the NYC DIY music and art scenes, both as a unit and in several guises as individuals, including stints in the celebrated and sorely missed post-punk band ADVAETA, and the noise project Lutkie.

The band expand on the song and video in conversation with Stereogum:

“Ripe for Consumption” is about the mutation many art professionals undergo as they move up the scales of independent platforms to larger stages. Stepping into the limelight without hesitation and eager to take credit for generating projects that were often manufactured and maintained by community members who remain unrecognized (often the socially disenfranchised), these personalities are flocked to and flattered by the frenzied masses looking for a connection to boost their own rise in the social world of art. The “Ripe for Consumption” video responds to this concept by focusing on a day in the life of three 2000s punk kids – ghosts of the past who initiated so many of us into an adoration for challenging art, who live in us still. They call on us all to remember a time when we rebelliously challenged the world around us because we had no social equity to lose.

Weeping Icon
Weeping Icon
Track list
Fire Talk/Kanine Records

1) (drag me out)
2) Ankles
3) (you should listen to me)
4) Be Anti
5) (safe space)
6) Ripe For Consumption
7) (in the news)
8) Natural Selection
9) (suits)
10) Power Trip
11) (the way it is)
12) Like Envy
13) (perfect the art)
14) Control