“Renegade” By Red Ribbon

Emma Danner, AKA: Red Ribbon, recently announced her debut LP Planet X, will be released on June 11th, 2021. The singer/songwriter recently shared the lead-single “Renegade.” Mostly produced by Randall Dunn (Marissa Nadler, Sunn O))), Shame, Pallbearer) and featuring Danner’s talented cadre of multi-instrumentalists (Shahzad Ismaily, Monika Khot, Abbey Blackwell, and Veronica Dye).

“‘Renegade’ is about how you’re your own worst enemy and you can’t escape yourself, no matter how far you travel,” Danner explains. Of the accompanying clip, director Amber Navarro adds, “I wanted to create a story about someone running away from society or leaving a situation, only to keep being discovered and ending up having to fight off whatever it was they were originally hiding from. Emma and I both seem to be into a desert style—being from Texas, I’m always searching for my little home away from home desert spots in LA that look like Westerns.”

I started working on Planet X shortly after I finished recording my first album while living in Seattle, and was writing these songs up until the moment we were in the booth recording them,” says Danner, who created the album with her band at five studios in three cities over the course of a year (Tornillo, TX’s Sonic Ranch, Seattle’s Dandelion Gold, and Brooklyn’s Figure 8, Circular Ruin, and Strange Weather Studios). The album’s thematic centerpoint “Way” evolved slowly over time and—like many of the tracks on Planet X—gradually took shape through each iteration she created. “Lyrically, that song is about the last night on earth you spend with those closest to you.”

Red Ribbon
Planet X

1. Weight of Man
2. Way
3. High
4. Human Copy
5. Planet X
6. Sun
7. Hold
8. Renegade
9. Document
10. Away From Here
11. Score

Pre-order Planet X by Red Ribbon HERE