“Put Down Your Phone” By Tora

Tora today have shared “Put Down Your Phone,” the track is off the Australian band’s forthcoming release A Force Majeure, available September 3rd via Ninety Days Records.

The band says of the track, which comes along with a music video directed by Christian Baur: “The meaning is quite obvious as it’s the song title, but this song focuses on the issue of tech addiction and how it is impacting us all on an exponentially destructive trajectory. Over time it’s becoming more acceptable to prioritise the people on your phone above those around you in real life, this realisation hit me hard when I noticed that my ex and I would more often sit on the couch scrolling instead of being present with each other. I wanted to use this creative expression as a reality snap and a reminder to never forget what’s most important for our wellbeing, here and now. I started writing the song as a joke that I would sing to people when they ignored me for their phones, eventually it turned into something serious and made its way into the studio during our recording sessions, before long the whole band had contributed to the track and we decided it felt right for the Tora album.”

“Put Down Your Phone” follows previously released singles “Inundated”, “Call On Me”, “Why Won’t You Wait” and “When Will I Learn”, all of which will feature on Tora’s upcoming third album A Force Majeure – out 3rd September.

Tora have toured nationally and around the US and UK/Europe with RÜFÜS DU SOL, Mansionair, Miami Horror, and Crooked Colours.

Tora
A Force Majeure
Track list

1. In Deeper
2. Why Won’t You Wait
3. Call On Me
4. Inundated
5. Fire Apartment
6. Put Down Your Phone
7. New Age
8. When Will I Learn
9. How Long
10. A Force Majeure
11. Metanoia

Tora
Live Dates

Thurs 4 November – Rotown, Rotterdam (NL)
Fri 5 November – Paradiso, Amsterdam (NL)
Sat 6 November – EKKO, Utrcht (NL)
Sun 7 November – Botanique, Brussels (BE)
Wed 10 November – Yuca, Cologne (DE)
Thurs 11 November – Nochtspeicher, Hamburg (DE)
Fri 12 November – Prince Charles, Berlin (DE)
Tue 23 November – Lafayette, London (UK)
Wed 1 December – Fluc Wanne, Vienna (AU)
Thurs 2 December – KIFF, Aarau (CH)
Fri 3 December – Gaskessel, Bern (CH)
Sat 4 December – La Boule Noire, Paris (FR)

Purchase tickets for Tora Tickets HERE