“Push” By Gabe Gurnsey

"Push" by Gabe Gurnsey is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day
"Push" by Gabe Gurnsey is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day

Gabe Gurnsey will release his new full length, Diablo, on September 9th via Phantasy Sound/[PIAS]. Ahead of the album’s arrival, they have shared the lead-single track, “Push.” “Push is all about lustful energy,” Gurnsey says of the album opener. “Recreating that immediate feeling of connection with someone and knowing it’s going to take you on some twisted euphoric journey. Where will we end up?”

Diablo is the follow-up to Gurnsey’s 2018 LP Physical, which was released on Erol Alkan’s Phantasy Sound. Where Physical followed the arc of a night out in a linear way, Diablo expands time, slows it down and opens it up, showing a quiet confidence and progression, and making judicious use of Gurnsey’s girlfriend, Tilly Morris, whose role is that of both muse and collaborator. “I wanted Tilly to dominate on Diablo,” Gurnsey explains. “I wanted her to have free rein. This album works because of her influence, her input.”

Morris – who was also featured on Physical – sings on most of Diablo’s tracks, contributed to the lyrics, melodies, and synths, and her image is the album artwork. An album with such a level of collaboration only feels this good when you can really trust somebody. “This record is formed out of a lot of trust and lust,” Gurnsey says. “And I think it’s very honest in a lot of ways, in terms of letting go, in terms of exploring, just in terms of being a bit fucking happy.”

The biggest change for Gabe is that he is no longer a drummer, a role he thrived in as a member of Factory Floor, whose uncompromising approach to electronic music made them one of the UK’s most energetic live acts. Physical still contained plenty of his tough syncopated rhythms, but on Diablo he’s mainly programming them rather than stuck behind the traps. “It just didn’t really suit it as much,” he confesses. “It didn’t really need it.” Nonetheless, rhythm is still at the centre of his songwriting process. “100% start with the drums – and bass. And then the melody. That’s always the foundation. Get the drums right, and you’re pretty much on your way, aren’t you?”

Diablo‘s influences range from Peaches, Detroit techno, deep house, electro, Suicide and Eurythmics. “I love the’80s,” he admits. “It’s been a big influence. There’s just something quite melancholy about that era, isn’t there?”

Gabe Gurnsey
Track List

01. Push
02. Hey Diablo
03. Power Passion
04. You Remind Me
05. I Love A Sea On Fire
06. Give Me
07. Blessings
08. Higher Estates
09. So Sweet
10. To The Room

Pre-order Diablo by Gabe Gurnsey HERE