Princess Nokia re-releases ‘Metallic Butterfly’

Rapper/actor/model/intersectional feminist Princess Nokia re-releases 'Metallic Butterfly.'
Princess Nokia "Metallic Butterfly"

Rapper/actor/model/intersectional feminist Princess Nokia, has just re-released a remastered and expanded version of her 2014 debut Metallic Butterfly via Rough Trade Records, featuring three bonus tracks Destiny Frasqueri was a young trip-hop and Bjork-obsessed NYC raver kid. The album showcases all sides of the artist Princess Nokia: music lover, philosopher, activist and anime nerd. The music was composed entirely with hip-hop producer OWWWLS, who also worked closely with her on 1992 Deluxe and has been her live DJ.

Metallic Butterfly (Remastered & Expanded) contains tracks, that are part of her live show, such as the pumped-up, drum-n-bass love song “Dragons,” the Afro-Latina pride anthem “Corazon En Afrika,” and the empowering mantra “Young Girls.” These fan favourites and more are finally available on streaming services for the first time here:

Princess Nokia notes via Twitter:

‘Metallic Butterfly’ isn’t a new album-It’s the album that started it all

My genesis, my beginning and the first time I introduced myself to the world as Princess Nokia

‘Metallic Butterfly’ is an experimental album that was inspired by many different elements of music and sub culture. When the music industry wanted me to rap I chose to be different and show the world who I really was

‘Metallic Butterfly’ was way ahead of its time. It featured trip hop, jungle, R&B Neo Folk, adult contemporary, grime, and Afro Caribbean Canto. It’s visual and audio aesthetics were deep rooted in anime, cosplay, witchcraft, feminism, and cyber goth/ rave culture

It’s evident in my self directed videos, that I was ahead of the curve all along

And for that I am very proud


March 2 – Berkeley, CA – Noise Pop Festival
May 30 – Barcelona, Spain – Primavera Sound


01. Dimensia
02. Hands Up
03. Seraphims
04. Young Girls
05. Biohazard Butterfly
06. Cybiko
07. Dragons
08. Felicity Island
09. Bikini Weather / Corazón En Afrika
10. Anomaly (Bonus Track)
11. Earth Is My Playground (Bonus Track)
12. Versace Hottie (Bonus Track)


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.