Primal Scream Announce New Album for U.S.

Primal Scream announce new album for U.S

Primal Scream return on June 18 with ‘More Light’, out on the band’s own First International label through Ignition Records.

The 13-track collection of new songs – and the band’s first LP in five years – ‘More Light’ was written by Bobby Gillespie and Andrew Innes and produced by David Holmes. It features guest appearances from Robert Plant, Kevin Shields, The Pop Group’s Mark Stewart and Jason Faulkner.

Robert Plant – ‘River of Pain’, the caustic call-to-arms of ‘Culturecide’ – where Mark Stewart guests on the chorus – as well as ‘Invisible City’ and the classic ‘It’s Alright, It’s OK.’

Bobby Gillespie says: “I wanted to convey coming out of a dark time and into a good one…We always knew it wasn’t going to be a straight ahead, balls to the wall, high energy rock ‘n’ roll, two guitars, bass and drum record. It’s sophisticated, layered, cinematic and orchestral; obviously working with Holmes we were hoping to make a record more in keeping with that vision.”

‘More Light’ was recorded at Das Bunker, London and Vox Studios, LA and mixed by Rich Costey at Eldorado Recording Studios in LA, with the album sleeve designed by 2005 Turner Prize nominee Jim Lambie.  It’s the follow-up to 2008’s ‘Beautiful Future’.

Primal Scream are: Bobby Gillespie, Andrew Innes, Martin Duffy, Darrin Mooney, Barrie Cadogan and Simone Butler.

Tracklist for ‘More Light’:

1. ‘2013’

2. ‘River of Pain’

3. ‘Culturecide’

4. ‘Hit Void’

5. ‘Tenement Kid’

6. ‘Invisible City’

7. ‘Goodbye Johnny’

8. ‘Sideman’

9. ‘Elimination Blues’

10. ‘Turn Each Other Inside Out’

11. ‘Relativity’

12. ‘Walking With the Beast’

13. ‘It’s Alright, It’s OK’


Deluxe Track-Listing:

1. 2013

2. River of Pain

3. Culturecide

4. Hit Void

5. Tenement Kid

6. Invisible City

7. Goodbye Johnny

8. Sideman

9. Elimination Blues

10. Turn Each Other Inside Out

11. Relativity

12. Walking With the Beast

13. It’s Alright, It’s OK

14. Nothing Is Real / Nothing Is Unreal (Bonus Track)

15. Requiem for the Russian Tea Rooms (Bonus Track)

16. Running Out of Time (Bonus Track)

17. Worm Tamer (Bonus Track)

18. Theme From More Light (Bonus Track)

19. 2013 (Weatherall Remix) (Bonus Track)

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.