Porcelain Raft release free EP

Porcelain Raft drops free "Pressed Flowers" EP through Volcanic Field
Photo by Shawn Brackbill

Porcelain Raft is back today with a brand new EP which is available as a free download via his Bandcamp. The “Pressed Flowers” EP came to light after Porcelain Raft AKA Mauro Remiddi found an old mini-recorder from his time in London. Remiddi dusted it off and put in new batteries and the recorder was full of demos from 10 years ago which he then adapted over the course of 10 days into new songs.

Remiddi tells us, “Back in 2006 I was living in London and had a portable recorder where I noted music ideas, mostly 30sec long. I’m sure it was 2006 because that year a whale was discovered swimming in the river Thames, in the center of London. That is something hard to forget. To my surprise few weeks ago, in my place in Los Angeles, I saw the little recorder resting peacefully in one of my boxes. I put new batteries on and pressed play. It felt like opening a giant book filled with pressed flowers, with the colors still intact. In 10 days I wrote lyrics and turned the notes into songs. Londoners gathered to see the rescue’s attempts. According to the press the reasons for the whale presence in the Thames were unclear.”

Expect more music soon from Porcelain Raft with a new album due in early 2017.

Download “Pressed Flowers” for free

Pressed Flowers Tracklisting

01. Sailing Away
02. Battersea
03. That’s What I See When I See You
04. Thousand Rivers
05. Close Up
06. Punto Luce