PLZ Make It Ruins Releases Compilation

PLZ Make It Ruins releases locked groove compilation featuring Arca, HAIM, Four Tet, Blood Orange, Clairo, 100 gecs and more
PLZ Make It Ruins

In partnership with Arts Council England, London-based record label PLZ Make It Ruins has released a 40-track compilation of original loops from popular artists across the spectrum of contemporary music. Each track is exactly 1.8 seconds long and has been crafted with the intention of being looped repeatedly, creating a uniquely hypnotic rhythm.

The compilation, out now, will split net proceeds from the release and the project’s merch package between ACLU and Liberty UK – organizations that fight systemic inequality on both sides of the Atlantic. Among the list of contributors are Blood Orange, Arca, Clairo, 100 gecs, Kenny Beats, Dominic Fike, Four Tet, Floating Points, label head Vegyn and many more. Artwork for the project comes from Isha Dipika and Travis Brothers. Please see below for a full list of participants.

The phenomenon of locked grooves is something that has captured the attention of DJs and record collectors alike for decades; the final note on a record forming a coherent loop as the album comes to a close, creating its own abstract beat. This abstract beat is then used by DJs as a tool to seamlessly blend tracks after the song’s final moments. This purpose is the genesis of the idea behind the project, allowing popular artists from all genres of music to give their own take on the formula with a host of different sounds and atmospheres.

The project launched with a one-off special on NTS, hosted by Vegyn, that explores the music of all the project’s contributors, as well as including a mix created from all 40 loops on the project. Listen HERE.

Locked Grooves
PLZ Make It Ruins
Track listing

1. 100 gecs – One bar to rule them all
2. Arca – UwU
3. ARTHUR – rest_less
4. Blood Orange – MORRIS
5. Buddy Ross – Future
6. Channel Tres – Locked In
7. Clairo – Jasper
8. Daniel Aged – 3 pictures
9. Dijon – PEACKOCK!
10. Dominic Fike – Cheesy Wine
11. Duval Timothy – Penny Sweet
12. Eris Drew – The Beat That Never Dies
13. Floating Points – Recourting
14. Four Tet – If You Spin Your Love Around
15. HAIM – I Know Alone
16. John Glacier – Shiny Sounds
17. Kelsey Lu – Only
18. Kelvin Krash – Guardian Angel
19. Kenny Beats – dontoverthinkshit
20. King Krule – Moonnn

1. Lauren Auder – Thorn
2. Loraine James – Sooth
3. Matthew Tavares – I Know Myself
4. Mica Levi – ⚕
5. Mk.Gee – LL6 +50c
6. Mura Masa – Reassurrance Loop
7. object blue – print sprint
8. Octo Octa – My Heart
9. Oli XL – Puppet
10. OTTO – Mr. Bilberry Badger’s Ringtone
11. Overmono – 5 More Years Loop
12. Porches – :*)
13. Raveena – Heartbeat Blip
14. Romil Hemnani – rope
15. Shygirl – Shy Tag
16. Skrillex – Italian Sushi
17. tn_490 – Plus four runner
18. Vegyn – Circle
19. Yawning Portal – Lovely Poison in a Jade Wine Cup
20. Zsela – Liza

About ACLU:
The American Civil Liberties Union is a non-profit organization established in 1920. The ACLU works in the courts, legislatures and communities to defend and preserve the individual rights and liberties guaranteed to all people in the USA by the Constitution and laws of the United States.

About Liberty (UK):
Liberty is an advocacy group and membership organisation based in the United Kingdom. Formed in 1934 the organisation campaigns to challenge injustice, protect civil liberties and promote human rights – through the courts, in Parliament and in the wider community.

Alongside the release of the project, a limited run of merchandise has also been designed by Isha Dipika and Travis Brothers and is available for purchase on the PLZ Make It Ruins store HERE.


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.