Pillar Point Debuts “Echoes” Off Upcoming LP

Pillar Point Premieres "Echoes" Track off Self-Titled Debut LP Out February 25th On Polyvinyl Records. Pillar Point will announce live dates soon.

Pillar Point’s nine-song self-titled album might sound familiar. Despite being the band’s debut, the moody, melancholy electronica is the work of Scott Reitherman, who until now has been primarily known for his involvement with indie-pop outfit Throw Me the Statue. And while Reitherman’s new project shows off a never-before-seen gloom, his knack for writing tracks that crystalize emotion and work their way into a listener’s guts isn’t at all obscured.

The album, produced by Reitherman’s longtime collaborator Charlie Smith, is a musical departure for the Bay Area native. As Reitherman explains, “Part of what steered me toward the textures and beats of dance music was the feeling of catharsis you can experience through dance.” It’s a noble idea, considering the themes Reitherman’s songs are dealing with: heartbreak, loneliness, aging and isolation in an increasingly connected world.

“Writing darker songs with dance elements helped me to process the confusion and change I was experiencing in my own life because within the confines of a pop song I could control little moments of clarity and redemption,” he says. “And for the listener it adds depth to what might otherwise be just dance music.”

Born out of a two year recording process between Reitherman and Smith that stretched from Los Angeles to the Bay Area and ultimately Seattle, where Reitherman has once again settled. “One of the things I wanted to do differently,” he says, “is to lay it all out on table this time, to make my songs more bare and personal.”

‘Pillar Point’ LP Tracklisting

01. Diamond Mine
02. Eyeballs
03. Cherry
04. Black Hole
05. Strangers In Paradise
06. Dreamin’
07. Touch
08. Curious Of You
09. Echoes



Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.