Photo Ops Debuts New Video for “Chameleons”

Photo Ops Debuts New Video for "Chameleons". His new lP "How To Say Good bye" album was co-produced with Patrick Damphier of Saddle Creek act The Mynabirds


Photo Ops, the dream-pop project from Terry Price, has released the video for “Chameleons,” off his debut LP, How To Say Goodbye. Directed by Cody Newman, the video captures Price’s “realization of the importance of friends, especially after I felt like I had none. Cody attempts to show the intense strangeness of never quite being noticed in life, especially when you want to me noticed the most.  You just blend in.”

Photo Ops is the contemplative dream pop project of Terry Price, whose album, How To Say Goodbye, draws on the tragedy and triumph of his recent past. The 30-year-old Nashville singer-songwriter, formerly of Oblio, “wanted to have a stylized, melodic, easy-to-understand album about sadness and pain and strangeness, and somehow find some catharsis,” he says. Indeed the concise and beautiful work — which draws on influences from Phil Spector, Paul Simon, Neil Young and Fleetwood Mac to dream pop acts of The Radio Dept. and Starflyer 59– is his attempt to move forward in his life and give comfort to others.

Price played nearly all of the instruments on the record, including acoustic and electric guitar, the Roland Juno-60 analog synthesizer, organ, piano, and bass. He co-produced it with Patrick Damphier of Saddle Creek act The Mynabirds, at the latter’s studio. Featuring driving, mesmerizing melodies – immediately appealing but substantial – the album is led off by “All the World Is,” which unveils the full-length’s autobiographical undertones: “It’s hard to recover from a bad year/ Friends that were with us, are no longer near.” Later, on “Someplace” he sings: “All this memory has gone out the window/ Like how to be a person in general/ Age is more than a number/ When you’re as old as you feel.”

The goal was to “sonically fuse” three albums, Paul Simon’s eponymous 1972 album, Dion’s Born to Be With You (produced by Phil Spector) and The Radio Dept.’s Clinging to a Scheme. “I wanted to combine chillwave with a more straightforward, honest approach,” he says. “The album title How To Say Goodbye may seem clichéd,” he goes on, “but I didn’t want there to be a question of what I was singing about: How to say goodbye to youth, friendships, innocence, thinking you understand the world, all that in general.”

How To Say Goodbye Tracklist:

01. All The World Is

02. It Makes Me Cry

03. Chameleons

04. Wanna Feel Good

05. Someplace

06. You Said You Were

07. February Ocean Breeze

08. Go To Sleep

09. A Hundred Miles Away

10. Sail Across My Eyes

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.