Peter Bjorn and John release US single & title track “Breakin’ Point”


Peter Bjorn and John are excited to be releasing the title track and US single from their forthcoming new album Breakin’ Point today, purchase HERE. “Breakin’ Point” was produced by Grammy Award winner Emile Haynie – who also adds some synthesizer to the track. The song is the second to be released from Breakin’ Point – the band’s seventh full-length and first new studio album in more than five years, due out June 10th via their own imprint INGRID and Kobalt Label Services.

“Breakin’ Point” was introduced to fans yesterday thanks to a radio premiere on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 radio show on Apple Music that airs weekdays from 9am-11am PST and via an exclusive online premiere courtesy of Stereogum.

“Breakin’ Point” follows the March 11th release of “What You Talking About?” – which premiered on March 10th via Pitchfork along with exclusive news of the album. “What You Talking About?” also had a radio premiere that day via Annie Mac’s BBC Radio 1 show and Mac has been playing the tune ever since. She also included it in her “International Special” show on March 23rd – where she plays her favorite tracks from around the world! John Kennedy played “What You Talking About?” on his Radio X show and Radio 2 added the song to the C-List starting Saturday, March 26th! In addition, “What You Talking About?” had a slew of great press pick up as well as an overwhelmingly positive response. Rolling Stone described the tune as “…an infectious slice of synth-heavy indie pop,” Billboard called it “…an infectious pop nugget that bounces catchily along and twinkles in all the right corners…” and WXPN – who played “What You Talking About?” on its New Music Show this past Monday – said it’s “… an undeniable pop anthem that begs for your ears.”

Following the album announce and first track release, the band revealed the album’s artwork and track-listing last week via their socials…

1. Dominos
2. Love Is What You Want
3. Do-Si-Do
4. What You Talking About?
5. Breakin’ Point
6. A Long Goodbye
7. Nostalgic Intellect
8. In This Town
9. Hard Sleep
10. It’s Your Call
11. Between The Lines
12. Pretty Dumb, Pretty Lame

The art for the new album and singles is the handiwork of Swedish artist Jonas Torvestig who also lent his creative genius to the band’s last album Gimme Some.

Both “What You Talking About?” and “Breakin’ Point” singles can be purchased now via all Digital Service Providers. In addition, the band announced earlier this month that they will be playing some North American, UK and European dates ahead of the June 10th release. Tickets are on sale now for the below confirmed and announced dates.

ay 2nd @ Rough Trade in Brooklyn, NY / SOLD OUT
May 3rd @ Baby’s All Right in Brooklyn, NY / Buy tickets HERE
May 5th @ The Echo in Los Angeles, CA / SOLD OUT
May 6th @ Popscene @ Rickshaw Stop in San Francisco, CA / SOLD OUT
May 19th @ Razzmatazz in Barcelona, ES
May 20th @ Chango in Madrid, ES
May 21st @ Territorios Sevilla Festival, Sevilla, ES
May 28th @ Immergut Festival, Neustrelitz, DE
June 2 @ Nobelberget in Stockholm, SE
June 7th @ Village Underground in London, GB
June 8th @ Melkweg Old Hall, Amsterdam, NL
June 9th @ Maroquinerie, Paris, FR
July 2nd @ Summerfest, Milwaukee, WI / Buy tickets HERE
July 7th @ Ottawa Bluesfest @Lebreton Flats, Ottawa, ON / Buy tickets HERE