Perfume Genius release new single “Dark Parts” June 4 on Organs


New single “Dark Parts”
New single from “Put Your Back N 2 It” released June 4th on Organs

Watch the video here:

February saw the release of “Put Your Back N 2 It”, the sophomore album from Perfume Genius – a gorgeous collection of bruised yet strangely optimistic piano ballads from one Mike Hadreas. Winning praise on both sides of the Atlantic (everyone from the Guardian and the Independent on Sunday to Pitchfork and Spin) it signalled the transition of Hadreas from beloved cult artist into one of the most important and exciting artists of his generation.

Now he is set to release the second single from the album, “Dark Parts”. In Hadreas’ own words, it was written in tribute to his mother, to “take something from her life that wasn’t happy and turn it into something triumphant, to remind her how strong and beautiful and loved and important she is”, with Hadreas singing the powerful refrain “he’ll never break you baby” over a swelling backdrop of piano and pounding drums. It is one of the most heart bursting moments on the record and the accompanying video, directed by Winston Case (who also directed his last clip, the controversial “Hood”) is, accordingly, deeply moving – at once a beautiful affirmation of Hadreas’ love for his mother and also a refusal to be cowed by the darkness, as symbolised by a strange masked figure who stalks around after them.

You can also catch Hadreas in action when he plays a string of shows across the UK in May, including two dates in London at St Pancras Old Church.



8 – Captain’s Rest, Glasgow
9 – The Deaf Institute, Manchester
10 – St Pancras Old Church, London
12 – Unitarian Church @ The Great Escape, Brighton
13 – Chapel Arts, Bath
14 – St Pancras Old Church, London
16 – Botanique, Brussels
17 – Amstekkerk, Amsterdam
19 – Paradijs Chrich, Rotterdam
20 – Gebaude 9, Cologne
21 – Prinzebar, Hamburg
22 – Privat Club, Berlin
24 – Divan Du Monde, Paris

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.