“Peradam” Modern Nature

Modern Nature, the new project of Jack Cooper (Ultimate Painting, Mazes) and Will Young (BEAK>, Moon Gangs), announces its debut album, How To Live, out August 23rd on Bella Union. On How to Live, urban and rural cross into each other. Plaintive cello strains melt into motorik beats. Pastoral field recordings drift through looping guitar figures. Rising melodies shine with reflective saxophone accents, placing the record somewhere between the subtle mediations of Talk Talk, the stirring folk of Anne Briggs and the atmospheric waves of Harmonia.

Cooper and Young’s organic compositions gain muscle through the thoughtful cello of Rupert Gillett, the insistent drumming of Aaron Neveu (Woods), and the expressive saxophone of Jeff Tobias (Sunwatchers). Each track on How to Live evolved as these creative forces joined the group, and it shows. The entire album courses with both precision and vitality, and is a work of surprising layers and limitless depths. Modern Nature may have been inspired by the line between urban and rural, but with How To Live they’ve gone a step further, and created their own complete world.

Modern Nature
How To Live

1. Bloom
2. Footsteps
3. Turbulence
4. Criminals
5. Seance
6. Nightmares
7. Peradam
8. Oracle
9. Nature
10. Devotee

Modern Nature
Live Dates

Fri. July 26 – Cornwall @ Port Eliot Festival
Sun. Aug. 18 – Brecon Beacons @ Green Man Festival
Sun. Sept. 14 – Flintshire @ Good Life Experience