Patrick Watson


Adventures In Your Own Backyard

new album to be released this April on Domino, in conjunction with Secret City. available on CD, LP and digital formats.

Patrick Watson will be releasing his new album on Domino and Secret City in April of this year. Adventures In Your Own Backyard will be released the week of April 16th in his native Canada, continental
Europe and Japan, to be followed the week of April 30th in the rest of the world.

Adventures… was made at home after a grueling five-year run that saw Patrick and his band (bassist Mishka

Stein, guitarist Simon Angell and drummer Robbie Kuster) tour the world in support of two critically-
acclaimed and successful albums, including the Polaris award-winning Close To Paradise. During this time,
Patrick also contributed to Ma Fleur, the 2007 album from The Cinematic Orchestra, co-writing and singing
on a sizeable portion of the record.

In Patrick’s own words, Adventures… is an effort on the band’s part to “make the kind of music we would want to listen to at home.” The album’s title is a nod to this sentiment and to the fact that it was recorded almost entirely in Watson’s apartment in Montreal, unlike his previous efforts which were sprawling recordings in both geography and arrangements.

Adventures… will be preceded by the single and video for the sweeping, elegant “Into Giants,” which is

available for preview to all at and via the widget below. Patrick and his band
have already lined up shows before the album’s release that will include a headlining appearance at South
By Southwest in Austin, Texas in March, a variety of dates across Europe this April, and support dates with Andrew Bird in the US this May:

Patrick Watson Tour Dates:
Wed. 03/14/12 – Sat. 03/17/12 — Austin, TX @ SXSW
Thu. 05/03/12 — Philadelphia PA @ Union Transfer w/ Andrew Bird
Fri. 05/04/12 — New York NY @ Beacon Theatre w/ Andrew Bird
Sun. 05/06/12 — Boston MA @ House of Blues w/ Andrew Bird
Tue. 05/08/12 — Washington DC @ The 930 Club w/ Andrew Bird
Wed. 05/09/12 — Baltimore MD @ RamsHead Live w/ Andrew Bird

Tracklisting is as follows:
01. Lighthouse
02. Blackwind
03. Step Out For A While
04. The Quiet Crowd
05. Into Giants
06. Morning Sheets
07. Words In The Fire
08. The Things You Do
09. Strange Crooked Road
10. Noisy Sunday
11. Adventures In Your Own Backyard
12. Swimming Pools


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.