Passion Pit Announce New Album ‘Kindred’

Passion Pit announce new album 'Kindred' out April 21st.

Kindred, the new album from Passion Pit, will be released April 21 via Columbia Records. You can watch a clip the first track from the album, “Lifted Up (1985),” below.

Kindred was written by Passion Pit frontman Michael Angelakos and recorded in New York City. The album was produced by Angelakos alongside longtime collaborators and co-producers Chris Zane and Alex Aldi, as well as Benny Blanco. Kindred follows Passion Pit’s 2012 album Gossamer, which found the band playing Madison Square Garden, appearing on “Saturday Night Live” and various festivals including Lollapalooza, Governors Ball, Outside Lands.

Angelakos’ songwriting process for Passion Pit has always been to filter and reshape. Many sounds on Kindred that one would assume are synths are Angelakos’ voice, manipulated by computers and pedals. Angelakos frequently repurposes sound: using top 40 signifiers for outré ends, crushing weird natural and synthetic detritus together into pop (Brent Katz, liner notes, 2015).


1. Lifted Up (1985)
2. Whole Life Story
3. Where the Sky Hangs
4. All I Want
5. Five Foot Ten (I)
6. Dancing on the Grave
7. Until We Can’t (Let’s Go)
8. Looks Like Rain
9. My Brother Taught Me How To Swim
10. Ten Feet Tall (II)

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.